LibGuides: Faculty Guide: Databases

Database Examples

Comprehensive General Databases

General MultiSearch (EBSCO Basic) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Use this link to search multiple EBSCO databases at once. This collection of databases that can be found listed individually in the A-Z Database List. Choose the databases you want to search on the next screen. This is helpful if you aren't sure which database to search or want to search multiple places at once.
- What's included?
  This collection includes the following databases: Academic Search Complete, Associates Programs Source Plus, MasterFILE Premier, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, Religion and Philosophy Collection, and eBook Collection
Gale Databases MultiSearch (Comprehensive)
- Why search here?
  Use this link to search multiple Gale databases, spanning many subjects, at once. This collection of databases that can be found listed individually in the A-Z Database List. Choose the databases you want to search on the next screen. This is helpful if you aren't sure which database to search or want to search multiple places at once.
- What's included?
  This collection provides access to articles, videos, charts, images, infographics, and more from Academic OneFile, Biography, Gale eBooks, General OneFile, Opposing Viewpoints, Popular Magazines, Pop Culture Studies, The New York Times Article Archive, and Vocations and Careers.

Newspaper Databases

New York Times (1985-Present) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Full text, searchable database of the New York Times newspaper. Offers authoritative coverage of local, national, and international news from 1985 to the present.
- What's included?
  Full text of articles published in the New York Times newspaper from 1985 to the present. Text only articles, which do not contain all content found in the published version of the Time. Excluded items include advertisements, charts, classified ads, graphs, most images, and non-staff written items. Updated daily by 8 a.m.

Psychology/Sociology/Science Databases

Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Gale OneFile: Psychology provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
- What's included?
  The Psychology Collection brings together information found in nearly 300 journals, with a strong emphasis on full-text titles cited in PsycINFO.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  SocINDEX is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database with journals, books, and conference papers.
- What's included?
  Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Also features over 10,000 Author Profiles covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched-for authors in the database.
Science (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  From climate change to genetically modified organisms to fracking, the wealth of content in Gale In Context: Science spans the fields of biology, chemistry, physics, earth and environmental science, health and medicine, and math and technology. Go beyond research projects and choose from over 350 experiments in 200 entries to assign during everyday instruction, enabling hands-on learning anywhere students have online access.
- What's included?
  Access more than 330 interactive simulations to supplement classroom labs and engage students, allowing them to run a simulation, change the variables, and run it again to compare results—all in an online environment. Understand and explore varied concepts, like homeostasis, circuits, radioactive decay, chemical equations, force, energy, and more.
Science MultiSearch (EBSCO)
- Why search here?
  Use this link to search multiple science related databases at once. This collection of databases that can be found listed individually in the A-Z Database List. Choose the databases you want to search on the next screen. This is helpful if you aren't sure which science database to search or want to search multiple places at once.
- What's included?
  This collection includes the following databases: Academic Search Complete, Associates Programs Source Plus, Biomedical Reference Collection, eBook Academic Collection, eBook Collection, Environment Complete, GreenFILE, Health Source: Consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, MasterFILE Premier, MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection.

A- Z Databases Link

A-Z list of all MCC Library databases

How to Search Databases

Below is an example of an EBSCO search. The keywords are American Civil War and Women. If you want an article to download and read, check off click on FULL TEXT. You also have the ability to search by source type: newspapers, academic journals, or ebooks.

Once you find an article you want, there may be two types of results. Many articles are in our databases are available in full text . Usually, you can find a link to the PDF FULL TEXT or HTML FULL TEXT like the example below.

The second result type is a citation to an article the library doesn't have access to. You can still get the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Usually you will find a link to a form on the left like the example below. Requesting the article costs you NOTHING! It's absolutely free!

*If you don't see a link to the form, email us with the article and journal information*