Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How Can I Participate?
Use: One of the most important ways to participate is to use open educational resources. Whether you are replacing your textbook or finding excellent assignment guidelines, delve into these resources and provide them for your students.
Share: Be sure to let people know that you are using open educational resources and direct them to this resource so they too can participate. Emphasize to your students the importance of supporting open educational resources and how that can impact their wallets.
Add: Look to your own materials and help contribute to the open educational resources movement. If you have created any material that you feel others will benefit from, donate them to an open educational resource or acquire a Creative Commons license and post them on the Internet.
Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources
The CCCOER collects open access resources for the creation of textbook alternatives, in addition to open content repositories and developmental tools.
Access to over 500 open texbooks, as well as a useful guide to creating and implementing your own open access textbook.
Connexions contains educational materials for everyone - from children to college students to professionals - organized in small modules that are easily connected into larger collections or courses
All content is free to use and reuse under the Creative Commons attribution license
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Contains links to a wide range of multimedia objects form libraries, archives and museums around the United States (so not international).
The copyright status of items vary because it is collected from many sources. However, many items are public domain or available for re-use, and there is information in a "rights" field for each item.
A multidisciplinary Open Access publisher of books and journals covering the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine.
InTech as published more than 850 Open Access books, and provides support services for faculty who wish to publish a book or journal and make it available via Open Access.
Lumen Learning’s OER courses help colleges and universities improve access, affordability and student success, simultaneously.
Free online peer-reviewed publication service for medical resources such as teaching materials, assessment tools and faculty development.
Promotes educational collaboration through the open exchange of scholarly educational resources.
Users can download and utilize any and all of the published resources for educational purposes without legal infringements.
A free and open resource designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education
Links to online learning materials are collected here along with assignments and comments to enhance the teaching experience of an exercise
Provides over 1600 open teaching and learning resources: online presentations; course material; learning modules; podcasts; simulation tools.
Created by the NSF-funded Network for Computational Nanotechnology
Developed by SUNY Geneseo, OASIS (Openly Available Sources Integrated Search) is a search tool that provides access to Open Educational Resources (OER). It aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches a curated database drawn from 117 different sources and contains over 338,000 records.
Open Education Global is a worldwide community of organizations committed to improving education access, affordability, success and quality for all.
This catalog contains hundreds of college-level open textbooks from higher education institutions around the world.
Open Course Catalog
Range of manterials including syllabi, course activities, and assessments created by faculty, instructional designers, librarians, other experts. Some of these materials are intended to be paired with textbooks.
This is a smaller collection, but is sponsored by the Washington State Board of Education and therefore the materials have undergone testing for accessibility and assessed for quality.
Unless otherwise noted, all materials are shared under a Creative Commons (CC BY) license.and are available for download and editing via Google Docs.
OpenStax College offers free textbooks that meet scope and sequence requirements for most courses. These are peer-reviewed texts written by professional content developers.
Open Textbook Library
A catalog of open access textbooks to be reviewed by faculty members, made available by the University of Minnesota's College of Education and Human Development.
All textbooks in this catalog are openly licenses, complete, and available in print at very little cost.
Open Textbook Network
Community that advances the use of open educational resources and practices. Members benefit from and contribute to the global open education ecosystem
Instructors, librarians, administrators, and even students can search thousands public books created on the Pressbooks Authoring & Editing Platform. The Directory includes public domain literature, CC BY open textbooks, and a vast variety of open educational resources (OER) published all along the license spectrum.
Free and open online library containing workforce related OER materials created by over 700 community colleges across the United States.
A free and open, online, not-for-profit art history textbook with complete multimedia content.
Student PIRGS: Open Textbooks
A catalog of information about some of the top examples of open college textbooks, offered online under a license allowing free digital access and inexpensive print options. Material can be easily modified to fit your needs.
Subjects covered: Accounting & Finance; Business, Management & Marketing; Computer Science & Information Systems; Economics; General Education; Humanities & Language; Mathematics & Statistics; Natural & Physical Sciences; Social Sciences.
Texas Learn OER
A ten module open course to learn how to design, create, attribute and license OER materials.
Offers a number of e-Textbooks sorted by author and topic
All of the textbooks can be downloaded for free and many of them can be purchased in print form
A student-run site dedicated to increasing the use of free educational materials by teachers and professors
The approach is to bring all of the free textbooks they can find together in one place, review them, and let the best rise to the top and find their way into the hands of students in classrooms around the world
An evolving online community intended for the planning of education projects linked with the development of free content and the development of free content on WikiEducator for free learning.
Thanks to Marilyn Billings & Charlotte Roh, UMASS Amherst for this terrific list of resources: http://guides.library.umass.edu/oer
Open Access Books & Journals
Accessibility Toolkit – 2nd Edition
The goal of the Accessibility Toolkit - 2nd Edition is to provide resources for each content creator, instructional designer, educational technologist, librarian, administrator, and teaching assistant to create a truly open textbook—one that is free and accessible for all students. This is a collaboration between BCcampus, Camosun College, and CAPER-BC.
Guidelines for Open Educational resources in Higher Ed
Connect with Others in Your Discipline!
From COOL4Ed and MERLOT, connect with others that share your interest