Open Educational Resources (OER): Science

Online resources for teaching and learning chemistry

"The AAPT ComPADRE Digital Library is a network of free online resource collections supporting faculty, students, and teachers in Physics and Astronomy Education."

Our knowledge of the many life-forms on Earth - of animals, plants, fungi, protists and bacteria - is scattered around the world in books, journals, databases, websites, specimen collections, and in the minds of people everywhere. Imagine what it would mean if this information could be gathered together and made available to everyone – anywhere – at a moment’s notice."

"Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empowers learners to study at their own pace in and outside the classroom"

"The mission of the National Center for Case Study Teaching in Science (NCCSTS) is to promote the nationwide application of active learning techniques to the teaching of science, with a particular emphasis on case studies and problem-based learning."

The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines.

The Open Learning Initiative (OLI) is a grant-funded group at Carnegie Mellon University, offering innovative online courses to anyone who wants to learn or teach.

PhET provides fun, free, interactive, research-based science and mathematics simulations.

"The Science Case Network brings together the expertise and resources of several existing U.S. centers for case studies and PBL in a unified effort to engage other biology faculty in using, developing or conducting research on these teaching approaches.

"MASTER Tools, developed by The Shodor Education Foundation, Inc. are the result of on-going collaborations with the National Center for Supercomputing Applications (NCSA), George Mason University, and other education organizations. They are designed to be interactive tools and simulation environments that enable and encourage exploration and discovery through observation, conjecture, and modeling activities."

"The goals of Interactivate are the creation, collection, evaluation, and dissemination of interactive courseware for exploration in science and mathematics."

Introduction to Earth Science is designed to provide a comprehensive introduction to Earth Science that can be freely accessed online, read offline, printed, or purchased as a print-on-demand book. It is intended for a typical 1000-level university introductory course in the Geosciences.

"A collection of twenty-nine educational non-profit and for-profit organizations, affiliated with more than 200 colleges, focused on driving awareness and adoptions of open textbooks to more than 2000 community and other two-year colleges. Open textbooks are freely available for use without restriction and can be downloaded or printed from web sites and repositories."

"The National Academies Press (NAP) was created by the National Academy of Sciences to publish the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine, operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States. They offer more than 5,000 title in PDF format which can be downloaded for free by chapter or the entire book."
NOTE: there are a small number of titles not available in PDF format, therefore they are not downloadable.

Openly sourced learning materials that dramatically lower costs and increase flexibility. panOpen provides the tools and services that schools need to adopt OER effectively.

Directory of free chemistry journals.

"Academic Journals currently publishes 111 open access journals covering art and humanities, engineering, medical science, social sciences, biological sciences, physical sciences and agricultural sciences."

Contains over 100 Open Access journals in the life sciences and medicine.

"Chemistry Central is the open access chemistry platform from Springer Science+Business Media, committed to the free and widespread dissemination of chemical research. All original research articles published by, or in co-operation with, Chemistry Central are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication."

Titles participating in the Oxford Open scheme are broadly included in one of two open access models, either full or optional open access.

A collection of open access journals covering all areas of science and medicine

"Search U.S. government technical reports digitized or harvested by TRAIL."

"Wiley Open Access is a program of fully open access journals. All research articles published in Wiley Open Access journals are immediately freely available to read, download and share."

Apress is a technology and business trade publisher "devoted to meeting the needs of IT professionals, software developers, and programmers".