Skip to main content
mccbannerMiddlesex Community College Home PageAboutAcademicsAdmissionsWorkforce TrainingStudent LifeFinancial AssistanceMy MCCRegistrationDirectoryGive to MCCContact UsMCC Library

ENG 102: English Comp (Cady): MCC Databases

Databases

Specific databases that may be useful for your Comp II essays are listed in the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Natural Sciences tabs on this guide. Here are some databases that are helpful for general research. 

Find articles in databases

These are just some of the library databases, a complete list of all of the library databases is available here. If you want to learn more about databases Module 3 and Module 4 from the library tutorials may be helpful.

Database searching Basics

Enter single keywords or short phrases into the database search windows.

EBSCO search screen with search terms "indigenous people" and "rights entered in the search boxes

___________________________________________________________________________________

 

Refine your results list to find exactly what you are looking for. Select Full Text to limit your list to full articles. 

screenshot of search limiters, with full text and scholarly journals selected

___________________________________________________________________________________

As you research, make sure you keep track of the source information for each article. You'll need this for your citations!

detailed record page of article with title, source info, and database info highlighted

 

Keywords

Identify the key concepts of your research topic. Spend a few minutes brainstorming synonyms and related words for each of these concepts. Use different combinations of these keywords to search the databases for relevant articles.

Bedford Campus Lowell Campus Affirmative Action Privacy Policy Facebook Twitter YouTube Blog Pinterest Instagram Linkedin Alumni Community Current Students Donors Faculty & Staff Employers Parents & Family Prospective Students Disclosure Information Accreditation Web Policy Transportation Directions News and Events Contact/Request Information