Welcome to the First Year Experience LibGuide. Here you will find links to important resources related to the topics you're exploring in your FYE Seminars
Why search here? Gale OneFile: Fine Arts places millions of articles at the fingertips of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. Periodical database for serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
What's included? This collection provides resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database includes over 500 journals, with more than 400 available in full text.
Why search here? Use this link to search multiple EBSCO databases at once. This collection of databases that can be found listed individually in the A-Z Database List. Choose the databases you want to search on the next screen. This is helpful if you aren't sure which database to search or want to search multiple places at once.
What's included? This collection includes the following databases: Academic Search Complete, Associates Programs Source Plus, MasterFILE Premier, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, Religion and Philosophy Collection, and eBook Collection
Why search here? Use this link to search multiple Gale databases, spanning many subjects, at once. This collection of databases that can be found listed individually in the A-Z Database List. Choose the databases you want to search on the next screen. This is helpful if you aren't sure which database to search or want to search multiple places at once.
What's included? This collection provides access to articles, videos, charts, images, infographics, and more from Academic OneFile, Biography, Gale eBooks, General OneFile, Opposing Viewpoints, Popular Magazines, Pop Culture Studies, The New York Times Article Archive, and Vocations and Careers.
Why search here? Theatre Performance & Design Collection brings together Alexander Street’s premiere collections of video performances, audio dramas, and designs.
What's included? The database includes a range of video content types (filmed stage performances, masterclasses, documentaries), production designs; 300 audio plays from L.A. Theatre Works, 750 hours of filmed stage performances, documentaries, and video training materials, including over 50 premium performances of plays and musicals from the BBC, Royal Shakespeare Company, and the UK's National Theatre; 100,000 pages of primary and secondary design resources, including sketches, photographs, technical drawings, monographs, articles, and dissertations; 40,000 pages of monumental reference works, encyclopedias, images, flyers, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks, and other resources.
Why search here? This resource includes over 70,000 video titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and much more.
What's included? Streaming videos of documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, commercials, theatrical performances, demonstrations, and raw footage are included in thiscollection. Of these, thousands are award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street and include most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material. The addition of the Theatre Performance and Design Collection includes National Theatre, production recordings, documents, scripts, designs, sketches, and more.
Why search here? Kanopy is a streaming media service distributing over 30,000 documentaries, classic, and indie films across a wide variety of subject areas.What's included?
What's included? Thousands of videos in the Humanities, Education, the Arts, Business, Health, Sciences and Media & Communications and more. Collections include categories like LGBTQ+, Biracial, Multi-cultural and Disabilities
Why search here? Films on Demand is a video platform that links you to educational films and series which span the curriculum. Videos play best in the Chrome browser. Content may change slightly from semester to semester: the vendor removes & adds some titles every quarter (there may be a lag time in updating Library catalog records).
What's included? Over 7,000 documentaries, dramas, and newsreels from the world’s best producers including, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, PBS, National Geographic, NOVA, BBC, Ted Talks, and more. This database allows linking to segments of films and searchable transcripts. Visit our Films on Demand Guide for login help and direct links to great pages within the platform.
For more theater resources, see our Theater Research Guide:
The Actor's Workbook
The Acting Bible
Notes on Directing
The Actor's Survival Handbook
The Perfect Stage Crew
Directing - a Handbook for Emerging Theatre Directors
The Cambridge Introduction to Theatre Directing
