Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access to library resources from off-campus
You can watch videos, access articles and eBooks from off-campus but students may be asked for their A number and library password. Faculty and staff will be asked for their user name and library password.
A complete list of all of the library databases is available. Students looking for articles on African American history should begin below.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is an excellent source of scholarly peer-reviewed journals in all academic disciplines. including biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, and religion.
African American Experience
The African American Experience is the widest ranging and easiest-to-use online database collection on African American history and culture.
Biography (Gale in Context)
This database includes in-depth articles, periodicals and multimedia on people of interest. Just enter a search by keyword or limit by occupation, nationality, ethnicity, geography, or gender
EBSCO Databases (History)
Academic Search Premier, MasterFile Premier, ERIC, Newspaper Source, Military and Goverment Collection, Psychology and Behaviorial Sciences Collection, Religion and Philosophy Collection
Global issues (Gale in Context)
Includes international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
PsycARTICLES® is a database offering complete access to the full text journals in behavioral science and related fields
Salem History Series
Provides access to the Salem Decades, Great Events from history and Innovator series.
Boston Public Library eCard
Massachusetts residents can get a free ecard which will allow you access to a wide range of databases (https://www.bpl.org/resource/#azindex) beyond what you have access to through MCC.
This site provides access to photographs, manuscripts, books, audio recordings, and other materials of historical interest that have been digitized and made available by members of Digital Commonwealth, a statewide consortium of libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies from across Massachusetts.
Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 50% of which comes from sponsors and 50% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.
Search for articles.
Internet Archive Scholar
This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals though the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web.
Search millions of free academic articles, chapters and theses.