LibGuides: ENG 101: Hunter

Endangered Species Assignment

Keywords and ideas

When you search in a database or online for information about an endangered species, you should search for the specific animal by name. However, there are many other words and concepts that might make your search richer and help you find more material. Here are some keywords that might be useful:

conservation
conservation management
critical habitat
Endangered Species Act of 1973 (ESA)
environmental policy
environmental protection
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Habitat
National Marine Fisheries Service / NOAA Fisheries
property rights
wildlife conservation

Helpful databases

Environmental Studies & Policy (Gale OneFIle)
.
- Why search here?
  Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies & Policy is a digital resource that answers inquiries about environmental concerns with coverage of more than 5.4 million articles from more than 300 journals and book reference content from Delmar, including Soil, Science, and Management; Introduction to Agronomy; Food, Crops, & Environment; Fundamental Soil Science; and more.
- What's included?
  The Environmental Studies & Policy Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
.
- Why search here?
  GreenFILE offers scholarly, government and general-interest titles on all aspects of the human impact on the environment, including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- What's included?
  This database includes a collection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles. It also provides indexing and abstracts for a large number of records, and provides Open Access full text for some of these.
Health & Life Sciences (Science Direct)
- Why search here?
  Science Direct is a database of full-text, high quality journals published by Elsevier. This database consists of 2 different collections--Physical Sciences, and Health & Life Sciences. Citations & abstracts are provided for pre-1995 information and for Elsevier journals the library does not subscribe to. Most titles are from 1995 - present.
- What's included?
  The database eBooks and peer-reviewed journals in the areas of physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and humanities. It contains indexing, abstracts, and tables of contents for over 2,500 journals and over 35,000 ebooks.

Helpful websites

Travel Research Assignment

Look for books or articles by combining words for what you hope to find and the country you are exploring. For example:

travel Vietnam
food China
geography India
music Kenya

In our HELM catalog (for books) you can limit to just the Lowell campus, either Lowell or Bedford (choose the Group Middlesex Community College) or the whole system. For books from Bedford or any other HELM library, you can place a hold and the book will be delivered to the Lowell campus for you.

Travel guides at the library

Flipster

Flipster provides access to hundreds of magazines, many of which focus on travel.

Flipster Travel Magazines
Link to Flipster Content for Lonely Planet Traveller, National Geographic Magazine and Travel and Leisure Magazine.