Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
mccbannerMiddlesex Community College Home PageCurrent StudentsFuture StudentsPrograms & CoursesTuition & AidWorkforce & Training” title=AlumniLibraryMy MCCApplyRegistrationDirectoryGive to MCCAboutContact Us

MCC Libraries' Super Search: eBooks & Audiobooks

Looking for a great eBook or audiobook?

We have got you covered!  There are a few ways to search for the right eBook or audiobook.  Below, you will find some great ways of finding what you're looking for.  We have included descriptions below each option to simplify your search. 

MCC Libraries Search

MCC Libraries Search allows you to search multiple databases at once for a particular topic. MCC Libraries Search searches almost all of our content at once, sort of like a Google search for what the MCC library has access to. You may need to narrow the results by source type eBooks to find eBooks available at MCC. 

MCC Libraries Search is helpful if you are searching for multiple types of sources at once, in addition to eBooks. To search only for MCC owned eBooks, try the MCC Libraries Catalog. 

MCC Libraries Catalog

The MCC Libraries Catalog allows you to search the materials owned by the MCC Libraries. This includes all of the print books, DVD’s, CD’s, and other physical materials in the libraries’ collection. You can also find eBooks, audiobooks, and streaming films.

MCC is part of the HELM library network, which allows you to request books and other items from many other academic libraries throughout Massachusetts. Keep in mind that any items you request from other libraries will need time to be sent to MCC. You can expect anywhere from a few days to a week or so before the item is available for you to pick up.

The MCC Libraries Catalog is helpful to find items that MCC owns or to search for items from other libraries.

Databases

Databases allow you to search for many types of sources at once. This includes eBooks, articles from academic journals, newspapers, magazines, and trade publications, as well as other types of sources. The MCC Libraries subscribe to over 135 different databases. Some of these databases are subject specific, while others are general, comprehensive databases that include information on many different subjects. Read the descriptions below the database title to choose the best option for your research needs. 

Databases are helpful if you want to search a specific eBook database, such as the EBSCO eBook Collection or Proquest eBooks. You may need to search in more than one database to find appropriate eBooks for your research.

You can use the drop-down menus at the top of the Databases page to narrow down your database options by Database Type (ex. eBooks, streaming media, etc.). 

OverDrive

Overdrive allows you to download eBooks, audiobooks, eMagazines, and streaming videos. The materials in Overdrive are typically recreational reading. Textbooks and reference books are not included in this collection. You may be familiar with Overdrive through your local public library. MCC has joined the SAILS library network to provide this resource. You can use the website or the Libby App to access Overdrive.

Overdrive is helpful if you are searching for recreational reading materials.

Bedford Campus Lowell Campus Accessibility Policy Statement Affirmative Action Statement Privacy Policy Facebook Twitter YouTube Pinterest Instagram Linkedin Academic Calendar Alumni Community Current Students Directions & Maps Donors Employers Faculty & Staff Employment Library MiddleNet News & Events Parents & Family Prospective Students Disclosure Information Accreditation Web Policy Transportation Directions Contact/Request Information Feedback