LibGuides: LGBTQIA+ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer or Questioning, Intersex, Asexual, and more) : History &amp; Culture: Sociology

Print Books

How We Live Now
Publication Date: 2015-08-25
The Rise of Victimhood Culture
Publication Date: 2018-02-27
The Sociology Book
Publication Date: 2015-07-07
The Stuff of Family Life
Publication Date: 2017-05-05

Digital Magazines

Discover magazine along with other magazines can also be found on Flipster, the Digital Magazine Newsstand.

eBooks

Families(eBook)
Publication Date: 2015-12-03
Generational Interdependencies (eBook)
Publication Date: 2018-01-15
Society Explained (eBook)
Publication Date: 2014

Understanding Academic Articles

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
- Why search here?
  Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. and supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study.
- What's included?
  Journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. Subjects include: Animal science, anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion and philosophy, science and technology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and more.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  CQ Researcher is noted for itsaward winning in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Reports are published online 44 times a year. This publication contains in-depth articles focusing on recent news topics and issues of broad interest in the public policy sphere. All perspectives are covered and this is an excellent source when writing an argumentative essay.
- What's included?
  Each single-themed report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist, footnoted and professionally fact checked. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview, which poses and addresses relevant questions; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
- Why search here?
  Opposing Viewpoints contains articles, reports, opinions, general information, and more that provide different viewpoints on controversial topics and popular social issues. A great place to search lists of topic or research ideas for assignments.
- What's included?
  Content in this database includes topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites. Includes an easily searchable list of some of the most hotly-debated topics.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  SocINDEX is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database with journals, books, and conference papers.
- What's included?
  Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Also features over 10,000 Author Profiles covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched-for authors in the database.

Rip Rybnikar

he/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

Virtual Reference: Evenings and Saturday