Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access to library resources from off-campus
You can watch videos, access articles and eBooks from off-campus but students may be asked for their A number and library password. Faculty and staff will be asked for their user name and library password.
Films on Demand includes over 26,000 streaming media titles. Users can add favorites and playlists to their account. Content is currently searchable in the library catalog. Please see the Films on Demand Help guide.
Kanopy is a streaming media service distributing films from BBC, PBS, Media Education Foundation, the Criterion collection and more. Visit our Kanopy Guide for help, login, and more information.
There has been a change to login for Kanopy. Please access the guide and watch the MCCLibVid for guidance.
PBS Video offers a vast collection of films; series episodes; and videos from NOVA, Masterpiece, Nature, PBS Newshour, Frontline, Independent Lens, POV, Local Stories and more. PBS is making new titles available daily.
GBTQ&A was created in 2016 in order to document modern LGBTQ+ history — to get beyond transition and coming out stories, to get to know each person, their accomplishments, their failures, and how to they got to where they are today.
Queer Words Podcast
Conversations with queer-identified authors about their works and lives
A White Horse from The Memory Palace
The Memory Palace is a proud member of Radiotopia, from PRX, a curated network of extraordinary, story-driven shows.
Making Gay History Podcast
Different Communities within the Community
Rocking the Cradle: Gay Parenting
Prior to the 1960s, the idea of same-sex parenting had yet to reach the consciousness of most Americans. The majority of gays and lesbians did not even consider parenting, fearing the stigma their children might face. By 2000, however, the U.S. Census Bureau indicates that a full one-third of lesbian couples and roughly a quarter of gay male couples had opted to become parents. This program captures six gay/lesbian families in their day-to-day lives. Two of these families are families by adoption, two are co-parenting families, and two are lesbian families by insemination. Man-on-the-street interviews as well as emotional testimonials from the 15 adults and 11 children featured in this film provide a range of perspectives on gay parenting. A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is available online. (38 minutes)
Caught in the Crossfire: Children of Gay and Lesbian Parents
Prompted by the surprising comments of her own daughter, director and lesbian mother Sandra Williams made this program to give voice to the thoughts, emotions, and positive and negative experiences of seven children who are being raised by gay or lesbian parents. The children, ranging in age from 8 to 16, speak about their parents’ sexuality and how it makes their own lives complicated and often difficult. What comes through in these sometimes painful disclosures is the strength of the bond between child and parent. (27 minutes)
Artistic expression of alternatively gendered people’s lives reveals a captivating world where gender cannot be defined as simply male or female. This program features New Zealand photographer Rebecca Swan and her images for Assume Nothing, a book that explores the beauty and complexity of gender identity.
Gender--The Space Between
CBSN Originals explores the intricate world of gender, beyond him or her. Over the past several years, transgender narratives have populated countless headlines and TV sets. The world watched as Caitlyn Jenner transitioned, "Transparent" swept the Emmy Awards, and a Virginia boy's case to use the men's bathrooms at his school headed to the Supreme Court. Yet, in all that conversation, there is a type of transgender person you never hear about. They are called non-binary. They use the pronouns they/them. And they do not identify with being either a man or a woman. Rather, these individuals often choose to reject gender completely, or fluctuate between masculinity and femininity on a day-to-day basis. As a result, no one non-binary person is like the next. These are some of their stories.
The Gender Puzzle
Science is identifying new biological processes that determine a person’s sex. How will these findings affect the transgender and transsexual community? This program explores the latest research into gender development and the medical, cultural, and legal issues at the heart of the “brain sex” school of thought.
The Real Thing
When a soldier returns home, things have often changed. For Staff Sergeant Michael Waltze, the ultimate change is in his child. While on his tour of duty, his daughter has transitioned and started living her truth. Today he is coming home to surprise her.
Parental love is unconditional. It transcends a person's memory of their child. The Real Thing is an infinitely stronger bond.
Transending Gender: Portraits from the Community
If the challenges and complexities of a transgendered lifestyle are hard for some people to identify with, firsthand accounts of those experiences may be the best means of creating more understanding. This program features real-world portraits of individuals from the transgendered community—men and women describing for the camera what they’ve gone through and, in other scenes, going about their daily lives.
Herstories: Audio/Visual Collections
The Lesbian Herstory Archives is home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities. “Herstories: Audio/Visual Collections” contains digitized copies of some of the 3,000 oral history cassettes in the Archives' Spoken Word Collection and 950 videotapes in the Video Collection.
Being Gay: Comming Out in the 21st Century
Today, while gays, lesbians, bisexuals, and transgenders are no longer forced to hide their sexual orientation, there is still prejudice and discrimination which can make coming out a difficult decision. And there are always internal pressures as well. This program presents the accounts and stories of people who have recently taken the step of coming out. Interviewees and experts discuss the benefits of this important transition by examining the six stages of coming to terms with one’s sexual identity. They also look at the dangers of running away from sexual self-acceptance—such as alcoholism, drug abuse, and suicide—and how finding support can greatly assist the process. A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is available online. A Cambridge Educational Production. (25 minutes)
Stonewall Forever [Multimedia]
Stonewall Forever is a living monument to 50 years of Pride. It was created through a partnership between NYC's LGBT Community Center and the National Parks Service with support from Google to expand access to LGBTQ history, in commemoration of the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots.
Stonewall Uprising (PBS)
When police raided the Stonewall Inn, a popular gay bar in the Greenwich Village section of New York City on June 28, 1969, the street erupted into violent protests that lasted for the next six days. The Stonewall riots, as they came to be known, marked a major turning point in the modern gay civil rights movement in the United States and around the world.
The Stonewall You Know Is a Myth. And That’s O.K. | NYT Celebrating Pride
"Who threw the first brick at Stonewall?” has become a rallying cry, a cliche and a queer inside joke on the internet — never mind the fact that it’s not clear whether bricks were ever thrown during the riots at all.
Why Thee Wed? Gay Perspectives on Same-Sex Marriage
As controversy swirls around the issue of same-sex marriage, gay and lesbian couples in North America and abroad are speaking out for the right to marry. Filmed in British Columbia after the legalization of same-sex unions, this program introduces the victorious litigants, who share their views on marriage, religious and political opposition, child adoption, and, most of all, love. Interviews with their families, the lawyer who represented them, and gay rights activist Jane Rule—who takes issue with the institution of marriage—round out the program. (51 minutes)
Religion in the Mix
Homosexuality: A Religious Perspective
Throughout history, homosexuality has been censured by some of the world’s major religions—and often punished to the severest degree. This program studies the scriptures and doctrines of Christianity, Judaism, and Islam to understand why, and then contrasts their stances with those of Hinduism, Sikhism, and the Rome of Hadrian. A compassionate and compelling discussion of gay marriage and child adoption by gay couples involving the Reverend Richard Kirker, of the Lesbian and Gay Christian Movement; Rabbi Chaim Rapoport; and others is featured. Genetic predisposition toward homosexuality is considered, and homosexual acts in the animal world, as they relate to scripture, are addressed. Contains mature themes and explicit language and imagery. (37 minutes)