LGBTQIA+ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer or Questioning, Intersex, Asexual, and more) : History & Culture: Recommended Websites

February 10, 2024

The Cartoonists of Color, Queer Cartoonists, and Disabled Cartoonists databases were created and are maintained by cartoonist MariNaomi as a way to spotlight marginalized comics creators. The databases are used by booksellers, librarians, academics, editors, book publishers, event organizers, readers, and more.

April 2, 2021

The Lesbrary is a book blog about bi and lesbian books, with occasional coverage of other identities under the broad “doesn’t identify as a man and is at least some of the time attracted romantically and/or sexually to others who do not identify as a man” category. Lesbrary books don’t have to be written by a queer author, though it helps.

The Lesbrary is mostly made up of reviews, but also has features like Link Round Ups (a collection of all the latest lesbian and bi lit news and reviews) and guest posts.

October 14, 2022

June 9, 2021

November 3, 2021

StoryCorps’ mission is to preserve and share humanity’s stories in order to build connections between people and create a more just and compassionate world.

June 2, 2021

June 7, 2022

August 18, 2022

May 10, 2021

September 18, 2023

March 27, 2023

The World Bank's Gender Data Portal makes the latest gender statistics accessible through compelling narratives and data visualizations to improve the understanding of gender data and facilitate analyses that inform policy choices.

December 3, 2020

August 18, 2022

MTPC’s Identity Document Assistance Network (IDA Network) provides guidance, support and financial assistance for trans, nonbinary, and gender expansive people living in New England who are seeking to update their legal name and/or gender on federal and state documents. Not everyone needs an attorney’s assistance in this process, but it can still be very overwhelming and complicated so we’re here to help! While MTPC does not currently provide legal representation or legal counsel, we will refer you to an appropriate legal resource if necessary.

March 23, 2023

NCTE was founded in 2003 by transgender activists who recognized the urgent need for policy change to advance transgender equality. With a committed board of directors, a volunteer staff of one, and donated office space, we set out to accomplish what no one had yet done: provide a powerful transgender advocacy presence in Washington, DC.

January 13, 2023

March 31, 2017

January 22, 2024

Trans Legislation Tracker documents legislation impacting the lives of trans people in the United States. We make tools to follow and engage with active bills. Our growing set of resources help people understand the broader story of trans legal rights in the U.S.

April 29, 2021

The Center for Minority Veterans is the Department of Veterans Affairs model for inter-and intra-agency co-operation, to ensure all veterans receive equal service regardless of race, origin, religion, or gender. We are process improvement-oriented and both internal and external customer-centric. We assist VA in executing its mission in the most equitable, efficient and humane way possible. Dignity and an acceptable quality of life are the products we seek to deliver to ALL veterans no matter what their circumstance. We will grace our mission execution with gratitude to the men and women we now serve who in turn served our Nation so well. Meet the Center for Minority Veterans Staff.

2020

The IVMF at Syracuse University is higher education’s first interdisciplinary academic institute, singularly focused on advancing the post-service lives of the nation’s military veterans and their families to serve those who have served.

2016

February 3, 2023

Link to the study in the text. 2016

March 26, 2018

March 19, 2021

We are building an intersectional movement of minority veterans and allies. We advocate equity, respect, and justice for all veterans. We're creating community among our members and delivering culturally-informed programming.

June 29, 2021

Every year on National Coming Out Day (October 11th), we celebrate coming out as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer (LGBTQ) or as an ally.

It was a frontier in more ways than one.

June 9, 2021

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Pride Month (LGBT Pride Month) is currently celebrated each year in the month of June to honor the 1969 Stonewall riots in Manhattan. The Stonewall riots were a tipping point for the Gay Liberation Movement in the United States. In the United States the last Sunday in June was initially celebrated as “Gay Pride Day,” but the actual day was flexible. In major cities across the nation the “day” soon grew to encompass a month-long series of events. Today, celebrations include pride parades, picnics, parties, workshops, symposia and concerts, and LGBT Pride Month events attract millions of participants around the world. Memorials are held during this month for those members of the community who have been lost to hate crimes or HIV/AIDS. The purpose of the commemorative month is to recognize the impact that lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender individuals have had on history locally, nationally, and internationally.

June 15, 2021

An article from ET detailing the history of pride month. It includes suggestions on some LGBTQ+ books, movies, merchandise and charities.

A concert commemorating the anniversary of the Stonewall Uprising. Watch the concert livestreamed on June 1, 2021 at 8pm EST

New York City Landmarks Preservation Commision

A Proclamation issued by President Joe Biden on June 1, 2021 recognizing Pride Month and the need for full equality for LGBTQ+ Americans.

Black LGBTQ+ youth face compounding challenges and have unique experiences because they
exist at the intersection of multiple marginalized identities. In this analysis, HRC Foundation
examines survey responses from roughly 1,200 Black LGBTQ+ youth (aged 13-17) from all 50
states and Washington, D.C.

October 26, 2021

The It Gets Better Project was created to show young LGBT people the levels of happiness, potential, and positivity their lives will reach – if they can just get through their teen years. The It Gets Better Project wants to remind teenagers in the LGBT community that they are not alone — and it WILL get better.

May 31, 2023

A searchable database

A lesbian quarterly. Downloadable issues and searchable database.

The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Worcester, Massachusetts at the College of the Holy Cross, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than thirty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, and private collections. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history.

The DTA uses the term transgender to refer to a broad and inclusive range of non-normative gender practices. We treat transgender as a practice rather than an identity category in order to bring together a trans-historical and trans-cultural collection of materials related to trans-ing gender. We collect materials from anywhere in the world with a focus on materials created before the year 2000.

Welcome to our new online resource which shines a light on just a few of the very special archive and museum resources that make up Glasgow Women’s Library’s LGBTQ Collections. The objects, publications and archive items you see here are drawn principally from GWL’s own home-grown collection of LGBTQ materials, as well as the Lesbian Archive and Information Centre collection, which is popularly known as ‘The Lesbian Archive’. These collections form a significant part of GWL’s overall collection making up almost a third of our Archive and Museum collections, and together they make one of the most unique and important collections of LGBTQ history in the UK.

The glbtq project was founded in 2000 by Publisher Wik Wikholm to create the world's largest encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer culture and history and to deliver it online. The contents of the encyclopedia were formed and overseen by General Editor Claude Summers, Copy Editor Ted-Larry Pebworth, and Assistant to the Editor Linda Rapp. After more than two years of work, the site launched in 2003.

The site grew to become the largest glbtq encyclopedia ever created thanks to the work of its editors and more than 350 contributors. The website also included a variety of essays, a few interviews with contemporary figures, and, during its last few years of operation, a blog written by Claude Summers. Claude Summers' blog is archived at the ONE Institute in Los Angeles.

The project also produced three books: The Queer Encyclopedia of the Visual Arts (2004); The Queer Encyclopedia of Music, Dance, and Musical Theater (2004); and The Queer Encyclopedia of Film and Television (2005), all published by Cleis Press.

The website closed on August 1, 2015 because of the collapse of the online advertising business model that had supported it.

“The Ransom Center houses the papers of British author Radclyffe Hall, author of the 1928 lesbian landmark novel, ‘The Well of Loneliness,’ and partner, artist Una Vincenzo, Lady Troubridge. The archive includes notebooks, draft typescripts, correspondence, photographs and scrapbooks that document Hall’s career as a writer, Troubridge’s work as a sculptor and translator, and their personal and creative partnership.”

“LGBT+ and queer histories are an integral part of human history. To reflect the methodological advances and rich research findings across a wide spectrum of fields, chronologies and geographical regions more fully, LGBT+ histories and perspectives in all their diversity need to be represented in teaching and university-based research, as well as in museums, galleries, archives and libraries.“ Download their report.

February 24, 2021

A curated/researched collection of information of LGBTQ content in digital games from 1980s-present

Laws affecting lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) people vary greatly by country or territory—everything from legal recognition of same-sex marriage or other types of partnerships, to the death penalty as punishment for same-sex romantic/sexual activity or identity.

ONE Magazine was published from 1953 until 1967 by the Los Angeles gay rights organization ONE, Inc., an offshoot of the Mattachine Society. It was the first periodical dedicated to positive coverage of gay rights. In 1954, the U.S. Postal Service deemed the publication obscene and refused to deliver it, the organization sued and won in 1958 with the Supreme Court decision, One, Inc. v. Olesen. The magazine covered a range of topics relating to the gay community and the early homophile movement.

ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives is the oldest active Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning (LGBTQ) organization in the United States and the largest repository of LGBTQ materials in the world. Founded in 1952, ONE Archives currently houses over two million archival items including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records and personal papers. The collections at ONE Archives are a part of the University of Southern California Libraries.

March 31, 2021

Weimar Germany was an improbably safe space for newspapers and magazines by and for lesbians.

The QDHP is an ongoing effort to document pre-2010 LGBTQ digital spaces online. Our current projects include a catalog of early LGBTQ online communities, an archive of transgender-related Usenet newsgroups, and interactive maps of TGNet, one of the first international transgender-specific BBS networks.

Queering the Map is a community generated counter-mapping platform for digitally archiving LGBTQ2IA+ experience in relation to physical space.

The platform provides an interface to collaboratively record the cartography of queer life—from park benches to the middle of the ocean—in order to preserve our histories and unfolding realities, which continue to be invalidated, contested, and erased. From collective action to stories of coming out, encounters with violence to moments of rapturous love, Queering the Map functions as a living archive of queer life. If it counts to you, then it counts for Queering the Map.

The Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) was first launched in November 2003 in an effort to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities.

As a Bible-based, Christian organization, The Reformation Project's mission is to advance LGBTQ inclusion in the church.

The first and most enduring award for GLBT books is the Stonewall Book Awards, sponsored by the American Library Association's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table. Since Isabel Miller's Patience and Sarah received the first award in 1971, many other books have been honored for exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience.
The Stonewall Book Award-Barbara Gittings Literature Award, the Stonewall Book Award-Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award and the Stonewall Book Award-Mike Morgan and Larry Romans Children’s and Young Adult Literature Award are presented to English language works published the year prior to the announcement date. The award is announced in January and presented to the winning authors or editors at the American Library Association Annual Conference in June or July.

As America’s storytellers, the National Park Service (NPS) is committed to telling the history of all Americans in all of its diversity and complexity. For many years, the rich histories of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer Americans have been erased through punishing laws and general prejudice—appearing sporadically in police proceedings, medical reports, military hearings, and immigration records.

The Trans Data Library collects reliable, carefully sourced information on the organizations and individuals engaged in anti-trans activism with the goal of de-mystifying these groups, their connections, and aims for the public.

The Tretter Transgender Oral History Project (TTOHP) is committed to collecting, preserving, and making available oral histories of gender transgression, broadly understood through a trans framework.

The Boston Alliance of LGBTQ+ Youth (BAGLY) was formed in 1980 and is a youth-led, adult-supported organization committed to social justice, and creating, sustaining and advocating for programs, policies and services for the LGBTQ youth community.

Bay Windows is New England's largest publication for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender readers.

Boston Pride produces events and activities to achieve inclusivity, equality, respect, and awareness in Greater Boston and beyond. Fostering diversity, unity, visibility, and dignity, we educate, communicate, and advocate by building and strengthening community connections.

Since 1971, Fenway Health has been working to make life healthier for the people in our neighborhood, the LGBTQIA+ community, people living with HIV/AIDS and the broader population. Fenway was founded in 1971 as part of the free clinic movement by students who believed that “health care should be a right, not a privilege.”

We are New England’s leading legal rights organization dedicated to ending discrimination based on sexual orientation, HIV status and gender identity and expression.

We are a group of parents, families, friends, and lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people. We help change attitudes and create an environment of understanding so that our gay family members and friends can live in a world that is safe and inclusive. We accomplish this through support, education, and advocacy.

The History Project is the only organization focused exclusively on documenting and preserving the history of New England’s LGBTQ communities and sharing that history with LGBTQ individuals, organizations, allies, and the public.

The LGBT Aging Project was founded in 2001 by a group of advocates from both the aging service network and the LGBT community who recognized that lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender elders are invisible to mainstream elder service providers and that older LGBTs are invisible within LGBT community as well.

Note annual recommendations

Founded in 2001, the Massachusetts Transgender Political Coalition (MTPC) is dedicated to ending discrimination on the basis of gender identity and gender expression.

MassEquality works to ensure that every lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender person in Massachusetts is protected from cradle to grave—with equal rights and opportunities in school, in marriage and family life, at work and in retirement.

To foster events that honor the integrity, history and diversity of our Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender community and to focus on education, awareness, and unity among LGBT/allied communities

December 14, 2020

utstandingLife was founded for and by older LGBTQ+ adults, after many studies pointed to an increased risk for deteriorating health for this population segment. Many LGBTQIA+ adults do not have children or family members who, traditionally, are the companions and caretakers of older adults, and many feel isolated within their own communities. The organization was tailor-made to address these issues head-on with the thoughtful use of current technologies.

We are a groundbreaking independent and comprehensive trans healthcare center built to empower trans and gender-diverse adults, children, and families.

June 2, 2022

June 25, 2021

The Audre Lorde Project is a Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Two Spirit, Trans and Gender Non Conforming People of Color center for community organizing, focusing on the New York City area.

October 1, 2022

For over 25 years, GLAAD has worked with news, entertainment and social media to bring culture-changing stories of LGBT people into millions of homes and workplaces every day.

GIRES is a UK wide organisation whose purpose is to improve the lives of trans and gender non-conforming people of all ages, including those who are non-binary and non-gender.

As a dynamic media force, GLAAD ensures fair, accurate, and inclusive representation that rewrites the script for LGBTQ acceptance. GLAAD tackles tough issues to shape the narrative and provoke dialogue that leads to cultural change. GLAAD protects all that has been accomplished and envisions a world with 100% LGBTQ acceptance.

February 18, 2021

As the largest civil rights organization working to achieve equality for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender Americans, the Human Rights Campaign represents a force of more than one million members and supporters nationwide — all committed to making HRC's vision a reality.

The LGBT Project works for an America free of discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity. This means an America where LGBT people can live openly, where our identities, relationships and families are respected, and where there is fair treatment on the job, in schools, housing, public places, health care, and government programs

Lesbians Who Tech & Allies is a community of LGBTQ women, non-binary and trans individuals in and around tech (and the people who support them).

LGBTQ Nation is an online news magazine, reporting on issues relevant to the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer community. We have a pro-LGBTQ point of view, but we don’t shy away from keeping a critical eye on the movement itself.

Loads slowly

The Williams Institute conducts independent research on sexual orientation and gender identity law and public policy. We ensure that facts—not stereotypes—inform laws, policies, and judicial decisions that affect the LGBT community. Learn more about us.

This will require you to log into your library account. (https://libguides.middlesex.mass.edu/offcampus)

A pivotal moment in civil rights took place the week of June 28, 1969. That day, police raided a gay bar called the Stonewall Inn in New York City's Greenwich Village. The move was a clear condemnation by law enforcement officials of the city's gay population. The volatile riots that followed sparked a new sense of urgency about demanding tolerance for persecuted communities.

Despite progress, the circumstances that gave rise to the rebellion that began the contemporary gay rights movement haven't changed as much as we might think.

New York's Stonewall riots of 1969 saw members of the LGBTQ community clash with police in what's widely known as the catalyst for the modern gay rights movement.

Stonewall Forever is a living monument to 50 years of Pride. It was created through a partnership between NYC's LGBT Community Center and the National Parks Service with support from Google to expand access to LGBTQ history, in commemoration of the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots.

The commissioner, James O’Neill, said he was sorry on behalf of the New York Police Department for officers’ actions during a seminal 1969 clash outside a gay bar.