Middlesex Community College libraries offer students in education and related disciplines access to numerous resources. Use the tabs below to locate books, articles, media, websites and citation help.
Why search here? Use this link to search multiple education related databases at once. This collection of databases that can be found listed individually in the A-Z Database List. Choose the databases you want to search on the next screen. This is helpful if you aren't sure which education database to search or want to search multiple places at once.
What's included? This collection includes the following databases: ERIC, Professional Development Collection, Teacher Reference Center
Why search here? ERIC is the largest database of scholarly and non-academic literature for the field of education.
What's included? ERIC contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 323,000 full-text educational documents. This includes education-related documents, journal articles, program descriptions and evaluations, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, and instructional materials from 1966 to the present.
Why search here? Explora Educator's Edition Resource is designed to support both student research and classroom instruction.
What's included? Explora Educator's Edition highlights content relevant to teachers, including lessons plans, curriculum standards, and other professional development resources.
Why search here? Teacher Reference Center is a research database for teachers and educators in the U.S. and abroad.
What's included? Teacher Reference Center includes abstracts of articles from more than 230 peer-reviewed journals covering subjects such as assessment, best practices, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, elementary through higher ed, and many more related subjects.
Why search here? Primary Search is a full-text database of carefully curated content for elementary school libraries. It includes full text for the most popular children's magazines, e-books, and easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids.
What's included? Primary Search provides full text access to popular, magazines for elementary school research, including Cricket Media Publications and reference materials.
Why search here? Designed for Kindergarten-Grade 5 students, this e-resource provides simple, quick access to curriculum-related information, premier reference content, and magazines for elementary students through a developmentally appropriate graphic interface
What's included? Curriculum-related information on current events, arts, sciences, health, people, government, sports, history, and more. Also included are full-text magazines, searchable and indexed images, maps, flags, charts, graphs, and Merriam-Webster®’s Elementary Dictionary.
Why search here? The Explora experience for schools and public libraries ensures that students, educators and library patrons can quickly find the reliable information they need to complete homework and research projects, deliver robust school curriculum, achieve their professional goals, and satisfy their intellectual curiosity.
What's included? Explora offers a simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, e-books, essays and primary source documents. As well as high-quality articles, carefully curated topic categories that provide users with a visual entry point to browse popular research topics and subject areas, topic overviews that provide students a starting point for research, and powerful filters for narrowing search results by source type, date range, Lexile range, and content provider
Why search here? Primary Search, designed specifically for elementary school students, contains full text for more than 80 popular elementary school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals, and features Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, providing students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. The database also provides the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and thousands of relevant photos, maps, and flags.
What's included? This eBook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects for primay school students. Topics include social studies, history, language arts, geography, culture, math and science.
Why search here? Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. and supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study.
What's included? Journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. Subjects include: Animal science, anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion and philosophy, science and technology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and more.
Why search here? Academic OneFile is a comprehensive database that allows you to find peer-reviewed, full-text articles in many subject areas, including the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, theology, literature and more.
What's included? It contains thousands of academic journals, the majority in full text HTML and PDF formats, and hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and and CBC.
Why search here? Associates Programs Source is a database designed specifically for the research needs of two-year college students. Providing hundreds of full-text journals, it covers the most relevant subjects for associates programs.
What's included? Topics covered include biotechnology, graphic arts, criminal justice, alcohol and drug abuse counseling, biotechnology, computer and data processing, cosmetology, culinary arts, electrical technology, fashion design, fire science, forensics, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, law enforcement and criminal justice, travel and tourism, veterinary assisting, and more.
Why search here? CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Reports are published online 44 times a year. This publication contains in-depth articles focusing on recent news topics and issues of broad interest in the public policy sphere. All perspectives are covered and this is an excellent source when writing an argumentative essay.
What's included? Each single-themed report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist, footnoted and professionally fact checked. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview, which poses and addresses relevant questions; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Why search here? PsycARTICLES is a database produced by the American Psychological Association (APA). Users can limit a search by psychology-related categories, including age group, methodology, classification codes and population groups.
What's included? Full-text, peer-reviewed articles on topics in psychology from APA-published journals, the Educational Publishing Foundation, and more.
Why search here? Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in APA PsycInfo. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
What's included? Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
Why search here? SocINDEX is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database with journals, books, and conference papers.
What's included? Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Also features over 10,000 Author Profiles covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched-for authors in the database.
Why search here? Gender Studies Database provides indexing and abstracting for gender-related research, including gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism, gender identity, and more.
What's included? This resource offers over a million records from scholarly and popular publications, including journals, books, conference papers and theses, from 1930 to the present.
