LibGuides: Nursing and Allied Health: Nursing Articles

CINAHL Search Tips

CINAHL Subject Headings

Using the CINAHL/MeSH Headings Feature (EBSCO)

How to Search in CINAHL

When searching for articles in nursing journals using CINAHL, try these tips for best results:

Use the Advanced Search screen
Type "nurs*" in one of the boxes and choose the SO Publication Name in the selected field box to the right
Use CINAHL Subject Headings as search terms if possible
Check limiter "Peer-Reviewed"
Specify a date range (2019- 2024)
Check limiter "Full Text"
Check Local holdings for Middlesex Community College

If you are unable to locate an article, uncheck the Full Text limiter or Ask a Librarian for assistance.

We can obtain articles not available in full text for you through a service called Interlibrary Loan.

mcclibrary@middlesex.edu

Specialized Databases: Nursing

CINAHL Plus with Full-text This link opens in a new window
.
- Why search here?
  CINAHL is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, offering coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association.
- What's included?
  This resource includes full text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, books, and monographs. CINAHL also includes evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons that include disease overviews and treatment options.

When Searching in OVID: Click Your Journals @ OVID

Ovid Nursing Community College Basic
- Why search here?
  Ovid includes full-text access to practitioner journals published by Ovid, including: AJN: American Journal of Nursing, Home Healthcare Now, Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!, Nursing201x, and Nursing201x Critical Care. This collection is specifically created to meet the curriculum needs of 2-year nursing programs.
- What's included?
  Select "Your Journals@OVID" to search our collection of 8 Nursing Journals in full text. Choose "Accept All Cookies" if you have a pop-up option. Choosing to "Reject All Cookies" or not making a selection will limit some user functions, including viewing your search history.
Health & Life Sciences (Science Direct)
- Why search here?
  Science Direct is a database of full-text, high quality journals published by Elsevier. This database consists of 2 different collections--Physical Sciences, and Health & Life Sciences. Citations & abstracts are provided for pre-1995 information and for Elsevier journals the library does not subscribe to. Most titles are from 1995 - present.
- What's included?
  The database eBooks and peer-reviewed journals in the areas of physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and humanities. It contains indexing, abstracts, and tables of contents for over 2,500 journals and over 35,000 ebooks.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
.
- Why search here?
  MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 29 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. This includes life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, bioengineering needed by health professionals and others engaged in basic research and clinical care, public health, health policy development, or related educational activities.
- What's included?
  Approximately 5,000 of the world's leading biomedical journals are indexed in MEDLINE. The majority of the publications are scholarly journals; however, a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters considered useful to particular segments of the NLM broad user community are also included. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).

PubMed: National Library of Medicine
- Limits search to Nursing Journals on PubMed
- PubMed is a free resource that provides descriptions of medical journal articles and comprises more than 35 million citations to the biomedical literature.
- You can use PubMed to quickly browse article abstracts and identify which articles to pursue the full text. PubMed offers links to the full text of journal articles when links are available.

PubMed for Evidence-Based Practice
- When conducting research, evidence-based practice is a method for framing clinical questions that will help yield optimal search results. PubMed^® is a free research tool from the National Library of Medicine^®. This course will show you how to use evidence-based practice when searching clinical questions using PubMed.

PubMed User Guide
- FAQs & Search PubMed Tips

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
- Why search here?
  Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. and supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study.
- What's included?
  Journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. Subjects include: Animal science, anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion and philosophy, science and technology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and more.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
.
- Why search here?
  Academic OneFile is a comprehensive database that allows you to find peer-reviewed, full-text articles in many subject areas, including the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, theology, literature and more.
- What's included?
  It contains thousands of academic journals, the majority in full text HTML and PDF formats, and hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and and CBC.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
.
- Why search here?
  CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Reports are published online 44 times a year. This publication contains in-depth articles focusing on recent news topics and issues of broad interest in the public policy sphere. All perspectives are covered and this is an excellent source when writing an argumentative essay.
- What's included?
  Each single-themed report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist, footnoted and professionally fact checked. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview, which poses and addresses relevant questions; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
.
- Why search here?
  Health and Medicine integrates articles from a wide range of full-text nursing and allied health journals, newspapers, magazines, newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference works and hundreds of health-related multimedia.
- What's included?
  Many articles are available in full text with graphics.
Nursing & Allied Health (Gale OneFIle)
.
- Why search here?
  Provide access to authoritative content including full-text titles cited in CINAHL supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management. This essential resource is versatile and features highlighting and note-taking tools as well as an intuitive interface, providing multiple pathways to key information. Updated daily, this resource will help nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
- What's included?
  The database includes answers to the specialized care, treatment and management of patients. Includes exclusive features, such as Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile)
.
- Why search here?
  This resource provides a wide spectrum of information from the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and much more.
- What's included?
  This full-text database includes more than 700,000 magazine and academic journal articles, all published between 1980 and the present.

Print Journals

Nursing Journals in Print

The following nursing journals are available in print at the MCC Lowell Library. If you need access to them, please contact the library by chat, text, or email and we will do our best to get you a copy in a timely manner. See services at MCC Libraries for further information.

Journal of Gerontological Nursing
Journal of Psychosocial Nursing and Mental Health Services
Nursing Clinics of North America
Oncology Nursing Forum

Understanding Academic Articles

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article