LibGuides: Nursing and Allied Health: Books & eBooks

Nursing Textbooks

Full List: Nursing Course Reserves Books & eBooks

Search the MCC HELM Koha Catalog

Our online catalog includes the MCC Library collections, along with the collections from the libraries in the HELM. The Higher Education Libraries of Massachusetts (HELM), is a collaboration of academic libraries throughout Massachusetts. You may request materials directly from all the HELM libraries with a library card and password. Materials from HELM are usually delivered within a few days.

You can also search MA public library catalogs Minuteman, MVLC, and more.

Student HELM Log In

Students log in using their A# and a library password to access your HELM account.

Your library username is your A#. Make sure you enter a capital "A" for your A#.
The default library password for students is their date of birth in an MMDDYYYY format. For example, if you were born on July 4, 1776, your password would be 07041776.
If needed, you can reset your password.

Students do not need to register for an MCC Library card.

You are automatically given a library account when you register for classes.

The MCC Libraries use the Library of Congress Classification System for call numbers.

Subject areas that may also be useful in research:

Subject:	Call Number:
Human Anatomy	QM
Physiology	QP
Microbiology	QR
Medicine	R
Public Aspects of Medicine	RA
Pathology	RB
Internal Medicine	RC
Examination and Diagnosis	RC 71 - 78.7
Popular Medicine	RC 81 - 82
Neurology and psychiatry	RC 321 - 576
Geriatrics	RC 952 - 954
Surgery	RD
Surgical nursing	RD 99 - 99.35
Ophthalmology	RE
Otorhinolaryngology	RF
Gynecology and obstetrics	RG
Maternal care	RG 940 - 991
Pediatrics	RJ
Pediatric nursing	RJ 245 - 247
Dermatology	RL
Pharmacology	RM
Pharmacy	RS
Nursing	RT

Selected Books & eBooks: Nursing & Allied Health

Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals, Fourth Edition by Deborah Dang; Sandra Dearholt; Kim Bissett; Madeleine Whalen; Judith Ascenzi
Publication Date: 2021-10-15
Take Charge of Your Nursing Career, Second Edition by Lois Marshall
Publication Date: 2021-10-15
Nursing Professionals
Publication Date: 2020-02-28
Mosby's Drug Guide for Nursing Students
Publication Date: 2020-04-08
Careers in Nursing (eBook)
Publication Date: 2019-04-01

Today's Medical Assistant:clinical and administrative procedures by Kathy Bonewit-West; Sue Hunt
ISBN: 9780323581271
Publication Date: 2020-03-02
The Caregiver's Encyclopedia by Muriel R. Gillick
Publication Date: 2020-02-11
Medical Assistant Exam Prep by Kaplan Nursing
Publication Date: 2017-11-07
Jump-Starting Careers As Medical Assistants and Certified Nursing Assistants by Jennifer Culp
Publication Date: 2013-12-30

Medical Assisting Today: Periodical
American Association of Medical Assistants: Published BiMonthly

The Gale encyclopedia of neurological disorders by Brigham Narins
Publication Date: 2023
Routine blood results explained : a guide for nurses and allied health professionals by Andrew Blann
Publication Date: 2022
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions
Publication Date: 2021-07-02
The Gale encyclopedia of nursing and allied health by Jacqueline L. Longe
Publication Date: 2018
Spiritual Care for Allied Health Practice by Lindsay B. Carey (Editor); Bernice A. Mathisen (Editor); Harold Koenig (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2018-06-21

Next Generation NCLEX PN Study Guide 2024-2025 by Lydia Morrison
Publication Date: 2024-04-16
The ATI TEAS Study Manual 2022-2023 Edition by Assessment Technologies Institute
Publication Date: 2021-09-01
NCLEX-RN for Dummies with Online Practice Tests by Rhoda L. Sommer; Patrick R. Coonan
Publication Date: 2020-09-23
NCLEX-RN Prep Plus by Kaplan Nursing
Publication Date: 2020-03-03

Health (Salem Series)
- Why search here?
  The Salem Series Health collection provides high school students, undergraduates, and public library patrons with a solid foundation for various topics in health. Easy-to-understand entries on hundreds of important terms, principles and concepts allow readers to develop a deeper understanding of each field. Using these volumes, students and researchers will have the tools they need to begin their study of health and the body.
- What's included?
  This collection includes the full-text of the Magill Medical Guide.
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO)
- Why search here?
  This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
- What's included?
  There are nearly 120,000 eBooks in this collection, including titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, MIT Press, Harvard University Press and many others.
Gale eBooks
- Why search here?
  Full text database providing subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and general reference books as well as the online version of the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary. Subjects include science, history, medicine, psychology and mental health, literature, drama, film, popular culture, business, law, and more.
- What's included?
  Includes eBook reference sources across multiple disciplines, searchable in the library HELM catalog.
Proquest eBook Central
- Why search here?
  The eBook Central platform offers access to ProQuest's Academic Complete, University Press eBook, and College Complete collections.
- What's included?
  It includes over 200,000 unlimited access scholarly books in a variety of disciplines that you can read online on your computer or mobile device.