LibGuides: ENG 101: English Comp (Miller): MCC Databases

Databases with Academic Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, and More

EBSCO Databases (All)
- Why search here?
  Use this link to search multiple EBSCO databases at once. This collection of databases that can be found listed individually in the A-Z Database List. Choose the databases you want to search on the next screen. This is helpful if you aren't sure which database to search or want to search multiple places at once.
- What's included?
  This collection includes all EBSCO databases, spanning many subjects, and provides access to full-text and peer-reviewed articles.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  CQ Researcher is noted for itsaward winning in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Reports are published online 44 times a year. This publication contains in-depth articles focusing on recent news topics and issues of broad interest in the public policy sphere. All perspectives are covered and this is an excellent source when writing an argumentative essay.
- What's included?
  Each single-themed report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist, footnoted and professionally fact checked. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview, which poses and addresses relevant questions; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Gale Databases (All)
- Why search here?
  Use this link to search multiple Gale databases, spanning many subjects, at once. This collection of databases that can be found listed individually in the A-Z Database List. Choose the databases you want to search on the next screen. This is helpful if you aren't sure which database to search or want to search multiple places at once.
- What's included?
  Includes all Gale Databases, spanning many subjects. Each subject-specific resource uses eye-catching topic overview pages to bring together nonfiction materials in all digital formats. Users can get the facts with articles, videos, charts, images and infographics, and more, supplementing school lesson plans with invaluable resources. The content within these collections is designed to support visual and auditory learning in addition to national and state curriculum standards.
MasterFile Premier This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Designed specifically for public libraries, MasterFILE Premier provides a robust collection of full-text magazines, e-books and primary source documents. It also includes an extensive image collection.
- What's included?
  MasterFILE Premier contains full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues. It also includes an extensive image collection of more than 2 million photos, maps and flags.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
- Why search here?
  Opposing Viewpoints contains articles, reports, opinions, general information, and more that provide different viewpoints on controversial topics and popular social issues. A great place to search lists of topic or research ideas for assignments.
- What's included?
  Content in this database includes topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites. Includes an easily searchable list of some of the most hotly-debated topics.
U.S. History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Provide students extensive coverage of historical events. This collection contains millions of articles from periodicals and newspapers; hundreds of thousands of topic and event overviews; biographies; and rich multimedia, including images, videos, audio, and weblinks. This invaluable resource provides access to information on diverse topics, such as early America, the Great Depression, and National History Day.
- What's included?
  The database includes Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites. These are all organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
World History (Gale in Context)
- Why search here?
  From antiquity to the present day, search a broad collection of scholarly analysis and full-text periodicals, reference works and primary documents that cover the events, movements, and individuals that have shaped world history.
- What's included?
  The database provides information on significant people, events, and topics in World History.
Associates Programs Source Plus (EBSCO)
- Why search here?
  Associates Programs Source is a database designed specifically for the research needs of two-year college students. Providing hundreds of full-text journals, it covers the most relevant subjects for associates programs.
- What's included?
  Topics covered include biotechnology, graphic arts, criminal justice, alcohol and drug abuse counseling, biotechnology, computer and data processing, cosmetology, culinary arts, electrical technology, fashion design, fire science, forensics, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, law enforcement and criminal justice, travel and tourism, veterinary assisting, and more.

Science Databases

Science MultiSearch (EBSCO)
- Why search here?
  Use this link to search multiple science related databases at once. This collection of databases that can be found listed individually in the A-Z Database List. Choose the databases you want to search on the next screen. This is helpful if you aren't sure which science database to search or want to search multiple places at once.
- What's included?
  This collection includes the following databases: Academic Search Complete, Associates Programs Source Plus, Biomedical Reference Collection, eBook Academic Collection, eBook Collection, Environment Complete, GreenFILE, Health Source: Consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, MasterFILE Premier, MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection.
Science Collection MultiSearch (Gale)
- Why search here?
  Use this link to search multiple Gale science related databases at once. This collection of databases that can be found listed individually in the A-Z Database List. Choose the databases you want to search on the next screen. This is helpful if you aren't sure which database to search or want to search multiple places at once.
- What's included?
  This collection provides access to full-text articles, peer-reviewed articles, and more from the following databases: Academic OneFile, Agriculture, Biography, Environmental Studies and Policy, Academic OneFile Select, Gale eBooks, Gardening and Horticulture, Global Issues, Science, and Vocations and Careers.
Science Database (ProQuest)
- Why search here?
  Science Database contains millions of full text articles from multiple sources. It features ongoing full-text from prestigious and highly selective publishers such as Nature Publishing, Springer, Emerald, Cambridge University Press, and many others.
- What's included?
  This database allows full text access to millions of articles from over 1600 journals in applied and general science. Access includes charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and additional graphical elements.
Health & Life Sciences (Science Direct)
- Why search here?
  Science Direct is a database of full-text, high quality journals published by Elsevier. This database consists of 2 different collections--Physical Sciences, and Health & Life Sciences. Citations & abstracts are provided for pre-1995 information and for Elsevier journals the library does not subscribe to. Most titles are from 1995 - present.
- What's included?
  The database eBooks and peer-reviewed journals in the areas of physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and humanities. It contains indexing, abstracts, and tables of contents for over 2,500 journals and over 35,000 ebooks.

Newspaper Databases

Access to the Washington Post
check the databases listed

New York Times (1985-Present) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Full text, searchable database of the New York Times newspaper. Offers authoritative coverage of local, national, and international news from 1985 to the present.
- What's included?
  Full text of articles published in the New York Times newspaper from 1985 to the present. Text only articles, which do not contain all content found in the published version of the Time. Excluded items include advertisements, charts, classified ads, graphs, most images, and non-staff written items. Updated daily by 8 a.m.
Boston Globe (1980 - Present) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Full text, searchable database of the Boston Globe newspaper. Offers authoritative coverage of local, national, and international news from 1980 to the present.
- What's included?
  Full text of articles published in the Boston Globe newspaper from 1980 to the present. Text only articles, which do not contain all content found in the published version of the Globe. Excluded items include advertisements, charts, classified ads, graphs, most images, and non-staff written items. Updated daily by 8 a.m.
Wall St. Journal
- Why search here?
  Full text, searchable database of the The Wall St. Journal newspaper, which is considered the preeminent publication for business news and information on financial markets worldwide.
- What's included?
  Full text of articles published in the New York Times newspaper from 1984 to the present. Text only articles, which do not contain all content found in the published version of the WSJ. Excluded items include advertisements, charts, classified ads, graphs, most images, and non-staff written items. Updated daily by 8 a.m.
News (Gale OneFile)
- Why search here?
  Gale OneFile: News provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. The type of sources range from articles to editorials and transcripts to podcasts.
- What's included?
  This innovative full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.

Biography Database

Biography (Gale in Context)
- Why search here?
  Biography (Gale In Context) uses numerous reference works to provide extensive biographical information. This database features many different search options and can be searched according to various categories.
- What's included?
  Includes in-depth, full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals and reference sources. Search for subjects based on one or more personal facts or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search.

Psychology Databases

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  SocINDEX is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database with journals, books, and conference papers.
- What's included?
  Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Also features over 10,000 Author Profiles covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched-for authors in the database.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in APA PsycInfo. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
- What's included?
  Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Gale OneFile: Psychology provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
- What's included?
  The Psychology Collection brings together information found in nearly 300 journals, with a strong emphasis on full-text titles cited in PsycINFO.

MCC SEARCH

Database Searching Basics

When you're doing research on your topic, first try entering keywords related to it.

Once you enter your keywords, you'll get a results list. Make sure you check off FULL TEXT before you start looking at articles. You also will want to look at Subject: Thesaurus Term to see if what is associated with your search. It's a good way to narrow down your results list as well.

Use the Article's Abstract Page

You found an article you like! The abstract page is helpful to you for a few reasons.

1.) It's going to help you with citations, so make sure you print that page.

2.) It has a list of SUBJECT TERMS tied to that article, these are perfect suggestions for keywords as you continue to research.

3.) To the left, you'll see PDF FULL TEXT and sometimes HTML FULL TEXT. This means you could print the article directly from the database.