LibGuides: CRJ 111: Intro to Criminal Justice: Finding Academic Articles

Search Criminal Justice Databases

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
- Why search here?
  Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text is the leading full-text database for criminal justice and criminology research. It provides top journals and magazines covering all related subjects, including forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law, and investigation. This authoritative database contains full text for many of the most important journals and magazines related to criminal justice and criminology.
- What's included?
  This database include content from over 300 full text periodicals and coverage from over 600,000 periodicals from around the world. Content area includes: Criminology, Criminal justice, Corrections and prisons, Criminal investigations, Forensic sciences and investigation, Substance abuse and addiction, and Probation and parole.
Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile)
.
- Why search here?
  Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports, and much more. The Criminal Justice makes research easy by bringing together information from more than 250 journals.
- What's included?
  Comprehensive periodical content for researchers studying law, law enforcement, forensic science, terrorism, and more.
General MultiSearch (EBSCO Basic) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Use this link to search multiple EBSCO databases at once. This collection of databases that can be found listed individually in the A-Z Database List. Choose the databases you want to search on the next screen. This is helpful if you aren't sure which database to search or want to search multiple places at once.
- What's included?
  This collection includes the following databases: Academic Search Complete, Associates Programs Source Plus, MasterFILE Premier, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, Religion and Philosophy Collection, and eBook Collection

Database Search Tips

Choose one of the databases on the left hand side. For the example below is Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text.

I am going to type in keywords based off of the main topics of my research. Do not write sentences!

Before I begin looking at article titles, I'm going to limit my results to FULL TEXT and make sure the years are recent. On the left hand side of the database, you'll see those boxes to refine your search.

When you find an article you like, there are a few things you should know.

- Read the abstract first and ask yourself two question: 1. Do I understand it? 2. Can it help me with my research? If the answer is no for either of those questions, find another article. Remember, it's absolutely okay if you don't understand the abstract, these academic articles are written for experts in the field.

- If you want to find more articles, use the subject terms listed as keywords for a new search

- If you like the article, on the left hand side, there's a PDF link. When you click on that, it'll take you to the article where you would either save the PDF or print it

- On the right hand side of the article record, you have a few options. You could save the article to your Google Drive, download the file, or email it to yourself.