Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access to library resources from off-campus
You can watch videos, access articles and eBooks from off-campus but students may be asked for their A number and library password. Faculty and staff will be asked for their user name and library password.
Students studying Human Services should take a look at:
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive, high quality sociology research database with journals, books, and conference papers.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
Psychology (Gale OneFile)
Psychology Collection brings together information found in nearly 300 journals, with a strong emphasis on full-text titles cited in PsycINFO.
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile)
Vocations and Careers Collection provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of higher learning, job searching, and maintaining a career.
Boston Public Library eCard
Massachusetts residents can get a free ecard which will allow you access to a wide range of databases (https://www.bpl.org/resource/#azindex) beyond what you have access to through MCC.
This site provides access to photographs, manuscripts, books, audio recordings, and other materials of historical interest that have been digitized and made available by members of Digital Commonwealth, a statewide consortium of libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies from across Massachusetts.
Search for articles.
Internet Archive Scholar
This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals though the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web.
Search millions of free academic articles, chapters and theses.
Currents: Scholarship in the Human Services
CURRENTS has been published as an online journal since its inception in 2002 and originates in the University of Calgary, Faculty of Social Work. All articles published before 2005, can be accessed at www.ucalgary.ca/currents. The most recent issue is visible below. Click on "ARCHIVES" in the menu above to view previous volumes and issues.
Disabilities Studies Quarterly
Disability Studies Quarterly (DSQ) is the journal of the Society for Disability Studies (SDS). It is a multidisciplinary and international journal of interest to social scientists, scholars in the humanities, disability rights advocates, creative writers, and others concerned with the issues of people with disabilities. It represents the full range of methods, epistemologies, perspectives, and content that the multidisciplinary field of disability studies embraces. DSQ is committed to developing theoretical and practical knowledge about disability and to promoting the full and equal participation of persons with disabilities in society.
Disability, CBR & Inclusive Development
Disability, CBR and Inclusive Development (formerly Asia Pacific Disability Rehabilitation Journal) aims to publish evidence-based information to address needs of practitioners (particularly those from developing countries), policy makers, organisations of persons with disabilities and the scientific community.
Healthy Aging & Clinical Care in the Elderly
Healthy Aging and Clinical Care in the Elderly is an open access, peer reviewed journal which covers both basic and clinical aspects of research into aging, age-related disorders, the general health of elderly people, and how to care for them. All aspects of research into the aging process are of interest, at the molecular, cellular and organismal levels, and mediating factors. Age-related disorders and conditions such as dementia and frailty, aspects related to nutrition, but also rehabilitation strategies and how to best care for people as they age, are all of interest.
Social Inclusion is a peer-reviewed open access journal which provides academics and policy-makers with a forum to discuss and promote a more socially inclusive society.
Understanding Academic Articles
Mental Health Screening
Free Screening for Mental Health Concerns
A quick questionnaire can help you figure out if how you have been feeling lately (maybe listless or irritable, having a hard time focusing, sleeping more or less) may be a symptom of depression. Free, anonymous, online mental health screenings are available for anyone in the MCC community.