The Police-Public Contact Survey (PPCS) provides detailed information on the characteristics of persons who had some type of contact with police during the past year, including those who contacted the police to report a crime or were pulled over in a traffic stop. The PPCS interviews a nationally representative sample of residents age 16 or older as a supplement to the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS). The survey provides information with which to examine citizens' perceptions of police behavior and response during these encounters.
This site compiles data on police killings, with filters for race, location, and incident type. It provides in-depth reports on racial disparities in police violence and yearly trend, along with graphs and infographics.
Pew Research offers data on public perceptions of police, as well as statistics on racial disparities in police stops and use of force. Pew also has extensive research on the impact of these interactions.
The Sentencing Project provides data and reports on racial disparities in the criminal justice system, including police interactions. Their reports explore patterns of racial bias in arrests and police violence, offering a broad look at systemic issues.
The Police Data Initiative provides data from participating police departments across the U.S. on topics like stops, use of force, and demographic data. It’s a valuable source for analyzing local data and trends.
The ACLU publishes reports on racial profiling and the use of force in law enforcement. Their work also includes data and case studies on how police practices affect marginalized communities.
NPAP offers case studies, legal resources, and research on police misconduct and accountability. It also provides resources and data on the impact of systemic racism in policing practices.
This database tracks police-involved shootings in the U.S. and allows you to filter incidents by race, weapon, and other factors. It's one of the most comprehensive databases on police shootings.
