LibGuides: Open Source and Open Access Literature: eBooks at MCC

Proquest eBook Central

This collection of eBooks are provided in cooperation with the FLO library network. The collection includes recent titles to support many academic disciplines. Direct links to titles are available if interested. Content can be downloaded to your computer with Adobe Digital Editions. Information about a forgotten Adobe ID can be found at https://helpx.adobe.com/manage-account/kb/account-password-sign-help.html

For additional questions see the Proquest eBook Central Libguide.

Proquest eBook Central
- Why search here?
  The eBook Central platform offers access to ProQuest's Academic Complete, University Press eBook, and College Complete collections.
- What's included?
  It includes over 200,000 unlimited access scholarly books in a variety of disciplines that you can read online on your computer or mobile device.

R2 Digital Library

The R2 Digital Library is a web based database available from Rittenhouse Book Distributors. It offers allied health and nursing eBooks from key health science publishers, on a web based platform.

Caring for the Vulnerable
Publication Date: 2020

R2Library
- Why search here?
  The R2 Digital Library offers thousands of health science eBooks from leading STM publishers. With one of the most extensive selections of Doody’s Core Titles, the R2 Digital Library has the content essential to the modern health science library. These high yield and focused eBooks are carefully sourced to provide the specialized content demanded by health science collections.
- What's included?
  The database includes a selection of updated, Health Sciences focused, cross-referenced eBook content.

GALE eBooks

The Gale Virtual Reference Library includes subject areas of literature, history, and business. Direct links and Pdf versions of articles can be downloaded, emailed or printed 24/7. Unlimited simultaneous access is allowed without an app.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Full text database providing subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and general reference books as well as the online version of the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary. Subjects include science, history, medicine, psychology and mental health, literature, drama, film, popular culture, business, law, and more.
- What's included?
  Includes eBook reference sources across multiple disciplines, searchable in the library HELM catalog.

EBSCO eBooks

The EBSCO collection of eBooks is a small collection of selected titles that are available through a patron-driven acquisition model. If you are interested in access to a specific title please contact the library. Users can read the eBook through the browser or on a mobile device an eBook can be read through the browser and if checked out, through Adobe Digital Editions App. Adobe Digital Editions is available for Android and IOS devices through the Google Play and IPhone and IPAD app stores.

eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO)
- Why search here?
  This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
- What's included?
  There are nearly 120,000 eBooks in this collection, including titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, MIT Press, Harvard University Press and many others.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
.
- Why search here?
  The EBSCO eBooks Collection are online versions of print books.
- What's included?
  This is a collection of over 3,000 ebooks selected by MCC Librarians and covers a wide range of topics. All titles in this collection will be available via MCC Search.
In order to download EBSCO eBooks, you must have Adobe Digital Editions installed on your computer. You will also need to use Adobe Digital Editions to transfer an eBook to a supported portable eReader device.
Adobe Digital Editions is a free download available at this link:
http://www.adobe.com/products/digital-editions/download.html

Salem eBooks Online

This collection of titles includes selected Salem Press content in the areas of history, literature, science, technology and careers.

Separate links are available for each title or subject series.

Careers & Business (Salem Series)
Includes career information for Business, Law, and Health related professions
Health (Salem Series)
- Why search here?
  The Salem Series Health collection provides high school students, undergraduates, and public library patrons with a solid foundation for various topics in health. Easy-to-understand entries on hundreds of important terms, principles and concepts allow readers to develop a deeper understanding of each field. Using these volumes, students and researchers will have the tools they need to begin their study of health and the body.
- What's included?
  This collection includes the full-text of the Magill Medical Guide.
Literature (Salem Series)
- Why search here?
  These titles examine American and international literature, novelists, poets, and short stories, as well as how they relate to their plots and themes.
- What's included?
  Includes several titles from the Critical Insights author, theme, and works series'.

Salem History Series

Free eBooks

Free Public Domain Book Sources