LibGuides: Open Source Literature: Communication and Mass Media

eBooks

Journalism(eBook)
Publication Date: 2018-05-22
The News Media (eBook)
Publication Date: 2016-09-08
Public Speaking (eBook)
Publication Date: 2014-06-20

Digital Magazines

Wired and cinema scope along with other magazines are available through Flipster, the Digital Magazine Newsstand.

Books

Material about digital and social media can be found in the H (Sociology) section

Books on Public Speaking start with the call # PN 4121 or are in the HM section

Screen writing, and media production can be found in the PN section

Careers in Social Media
Publication Date: 2018-04-30
Present Like a Pro
Publication Date: 2017-01-26
Social Media for Academics
Publication Date: 2019-11-20

Find Articles in Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
- Why search here?
  Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. and supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study.
- What's included?
  Journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. Subjects include: Animal science, anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion and philosophy, science and technology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and more.
Associates Programs Source Plus (EBSCO)
- Why search here?
  Associates Programs Source is a database designed specifically for the research needs of two-year college students. Providing hundreds of full-text journals, it covers the most relevant subjects for associates programs.
- What's included?
  Topics covered include biotechnology, graphic arts, criminal justice, alcohol and drug abuse counseling, biotechnology, computer and data processing, cosmetology, culinary arts, electrical technology, fashion design, fire science, forensics, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, law enforcement and criminal justice, travel and tourism, veterinary assisting, and more.
Communication and Mass Media (Gale OneFile)
- Why search here?
  Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media brings together information found in more than 400 journals. Nearly 3 million articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature, meet the needs of researchers.
- What's included?
  This database discusses all aspects of communication including advertising, public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and more.
Gale Databases MultiSearch (Comprehensive)
- Why search here?
  Use this link to search multiple Gale databases, spanning many subjects, at once. This collection of databases that can be found listed individually in the A-Z Database List. Choose the databases you want to search on the next screen. This is helpful if you aren't sure which database to search or want to search multiple places at once.
- What's included?
  This collection provides access to articles, videos, charts, images, infographics, and more from Academic OneFile, Biography, Gale eBooks, General OneFile, Opposing Viewpoints, Popular Magazines, Pop Culture Studies, The New York Times Article Archive, and Vocations and Careers.
New York Times (1985-Present) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Full text, searchable database of the New York Times newspaper. Offers authoritative coverage of local, national, and international news from 1985 to the present.
- What's included?
  Full text of articles published in the New York Times newspaper from 1985 to the present. Text only articles, which do not contain all content found in the published version of the Time. Excluded items include advertisements, charts, classified ads, graphs, most images, and non-staff written items. Updated daily by 8 a.m.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  SocINDEX is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database with journals, books, and conference papers.
- What's included?
  Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Also features over 10,000 Author Profiles covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched-for authors in the database.

Rip Rybnikar

he/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

Virtual Reference: Evenings and Saturday