African American History and Culture: Recommended Genealogy Websites

Founded in 1845, New England Historic Genealogical Society is the oldest and most respected nonprofit genealogical organization in the country.

Premier internet for profit genealogy site includes a free collaboration section that allows you to connect with relatives near and far.

Includes a state by state list of genealogy resources to help you on your way.

This site includes information and how to on using census docuements for your genealogical research

282,000+ links for family history!

This free family genealogy site was developed by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints and is a great place to start.

Find the birth, death, marriage, census records, and other genealogy resources for your ancestor by selecting the region and country below.

Find A Grave is a free resource for finding the final resting places of famous folks, friends and family members

Use this free service from genealogy.com to ask a question and share information.

A selection of links to websites that are useful for ethnic genealogical research.

Genealogy is the study of family history. It includes details about how people are descended from an ancestor, how people are related to each other, where families are from, how they may have traveled from country to country, where they lived, what kind of work they did, and what sorts of lives they led. A family tree is a visual representation of a family's lines of descent. Some family trees include photos and other vital information. Researching a family's genealogy and making a family tree is a great way for kids and adults to learn more about who they are. It also brings history to life in a new way, making it possible to see how historical events impacted one family: the researcher's own. Genealogy is also a great way to sharpen research skills.

A network of genealogy enthusiasts who are trying to keep resources free. Results are dependant on the coverage area.

Resources for German Genealogy on the Internet

One of the largest collections of historical documents from the 1800s through 1954 with concentrations in Steamship and Ocean Liner documents and photographs, passenger lists, U.S. Navy Archives and additional materials covering World Wars I and II, the Works Progress Administration (WPA) and Immigration documents from Ellis Island, Castle Garden and other Immigration Stations.

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

The global home for Jewish genealogy.

Linkpendium is a 10,000,000+ resource directory to everything on the Web about families worldwide and genealogically-relevant information about U.S. states and counties. We cover both free and subscription sites, with a strong emphasis upon free resources provided by libraries, other government agencies, genealogical and historical societies, and individuals.

This wiki includes links to many Massachusetts Source Information

A conference held biannually sponsored by genealogical societies throughout New England

This site contains tools for finding immigration records, census records, vital records, and for dealing with calendars, maps, foreign alphabets, and numerous other applications. Some of these tools fetch data from other websites but do so in more versatile ways than the search tools provided on those websites.

Our Roots Beyond Race project is the most comprehensive portrait of Americans’ identity available anywhere. Typically, discussions of race and ethnicity show U.S. residents in five or six broad categories. This project goes beyond basic race groups to reveal our incredibly varied “roots”—our family histories, including immigration patterns across generations and up to the present.

Roots Beyond Race contains data on 198 heritage groups and demonstrates the complex, overlapping, and fascinating origins of those who live in the United States. These data are self-reported and therefore reveal Americans’ own construction of identity. Multi-racial and multi-origin people appear in all race and heritage groups they reported to the U.S. Census Bureau.

A group of volunteers working together to provide free geneaogical information in every county and every state of the United States.

Find items in libraries near you

Includes interviews, blogs, research ideas and more.

To access the data, select the base pair of years you would like to link from the top row, and the later year from the column below. Click on the link to go to an OpenICPSR repository with the crosswalk, documentation, and instructions for those years. See our Quick Start Guide for more.

Obtaining the Census Enumeration District for an 1880 to 1950 Location in One Step

For access to the Griffith's valuation and more

Includes baptismal, marriage and some death records. Index searching is free ; viewing records costs a small fee.

Includes Church Records from Dublin, Cork, and Co. Kerry with more records to come

Interesting site to tell the story of Irish immigration to the states.

Online access is available with the creation of an eCard. An eCard is available to all residents of Massachusetts. https://www.bpl.org/ecard

Includes extensive newspaper collections and indexes, town and county histories, town and county maps and atlases, and city directories back to 1787

Include additional links, schedule of seminars, and useful documents

Library of Congress

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade - Database

A new organization

Opens as a PDF

Opens as a PDF