Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Begin looking for business
materials by browsing our
collection in the call number
range HD (Industries) HF (Commerce)
Present Like a Pro
Highly accessible, full of memorable examples, and at times amusing, this book presents ten powerful techniques for getting your point across in all venues--including new media. In today's world, nearly everyone, including business professionals and executives, salespeople, teachers, authors, and entrepreneurs--in short, anyone who needs to put an idea before others--needs strong presentation and persuasion skills. Moreover, just as important as traditional public speaking skills is the ability to present effectively via various media. Today's presentation is just as likely to be given over Skype or on YouTube as in a room, before a live audience. Present Like a Pro shares the expertise of a veteran presenter who knows what is demanded in today's marketplace and has lectured publicly, appeared on television, and testified before Congress. The straightforward, step-by-step instructions provide a sensible "plan of attack" for preparing and presenting. The ten techniques give readers the ability to simplify the challenge of presenting, to understand what works, and to develop an effective strategy for solving any presentation problems not directly covered in the book. Author Carl Hausman addresses all of the common problems for those new to presenting or working in a new environment, such as overcoming stage fright, injecting humor and wit into a presentation while delivering credible expertise, and winning over an inattentive, skeptical, or hostile audience. Clearly explains how to identify the best approach for a presentation, gear your speech toward your audience, and ensure a presentation is a resounding success Describes how to make your voice more powerful, clear, and appealing by employing techniques used by broadcasters, voice artists, and singers Identifies strategies for going beyond the old-fashioned "public speaking" mode into the modern world of the media-savvy presenter who integrates different formats and technologies into his or her approach--a particularly valuable skill set for entrepreneurs Teaches how to develop flexible skills that will allow you to persuade, captivate, and entertain, regardless of the specific purpose of your presentation
Find Business Related Articles Using These Databases
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) - Business Searching Interface
Including full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals, this database is designed for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
Business Insights: Essentials
Search for companies by company name, ticker symbol, SIC or NAICS codes or industry description.
EBSCO Databases (Business)
Academic Search Complete, Associates Programs Source Plus, Business Source Complete, Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text, eBook Academic Collection, eBook Collection, International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center, MasterFILE Premier, Regional Business News, SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive, high quality sociology research database with journals, books, and conference papers.
Economics and Theory (Gale OneFile)
This collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in business and economics.
Biography (Gale in Context)
In-depth articles, periodicals and multimedia on people of interest.
Gale Databases (Business)
Business Insights: Essentials, General Business File ASAP, Business, Economics and theory, Culinary Arts Collection, Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection, Small Business Collection, Academic OneFile, General Reference Center Gold, New York Times, Gale Virtual Reference Collection, Vocations and Career Collections
Entrepreneurship (Gale Business)
The Small Business Database offers resources specifically for small businesses like business plans and ideas, information on different funding options, different methods on starting a small business, and ways to expand your business. In addition to articles from journals and magazines, this databases offers business plans and other recommend sources according to your topic.
Wall St. Journal
The Wall St. Journal paper is considered the preeminent publication for business news and information on financial markets worldwide.
Boston Public Library e-card registration form. Some databases can be used from home. JSTOR can be especially helpful.
Entrepreneur, and Fortune Magazines are now available using an easy-to-use digital magazine newsstand for libraries.
MCC Business Department Resources