LibGuides: ART 105 Art History Before 1500 (Hawks): Find Books

Search the MCC HELM Koha Catalog

Our online catalog provides access to the library collections of MCC along with the libraries in the HELM (Higher Education Libraries of Massachusetts) Network. HELM is a new library network that contains the holdings of 12 academic libraries throughout Massachusetts. You may request materials directly from all the HELM libraries with a library card and password. Materials from HELM are usually delivered within a few days.

For additional materials see also the Minuteman, MVLC library networks.

Students HELM Log In

Students log in using their A# and a library password to access your HELM account.

Your library username is your A#. Make sure you enter a capital "A" for your A#.
The default library password for students is their date of birth in an MMDDYYYY format. For example, if you were born on July 4, 1776, your password would be 07041776.
If needed, you can reset your password.

Students do not need to register for an MCC Library card. You are automatically given a library account.

Print Resources for Art

Begin looking for arts materials by browsing our collection in the call number range

Most art materials have N call numbers and are shelved on the lower level in Lowell. The N section is divided by medium:

N- Visual Arts
NA- Architecture
NB- Sculpture
NC- Drawing, Design, Illustrations
ND- Painting
NE- Print Media
NK- Decorative Arts
NX- Arts in General

These broad categories are broken down further by time period, movement, subject or artist:

ND615- Painting-Italian Renaissance
ND553 M37- Matisse, Henri
N6465 I4- Impressionism
NK1700-2138- House Decoration, General, Special Rooms
NA190-1555.5- Architecture, History
NX440-632- History of the Arts

Books & eBooks: Art History

eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO)
- Why search here?
  This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
- What's included?
  There are nearly 120,000 eBooks in this collection, including titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, MIT Press, Harvard University Press and many others.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
.
- Why search here?
  The EBSCO eBooks Collection are online versions of print books.
- What's included?
  This is a collection of over 3,000 ebooks selected by MCC Librarians and covers a wide range of topics. All titles in this collection will be available via MCC Search.
In order to download EBSCO eBooks, you must have Adobe Digital Editions installed on your computer. You will also need to use Adobe Digital Editions to transfer an eBook to a supported portable eReader device.
Adobe Digital Editions is a free download available at this link:
http://www.adobe.com/products/digital-editions/download.html
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Full text database providing subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias and general reference books as well as the online version of the Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary. Subjects include science, history, medicine, psychology and mental health, literature, drama, film, popular culture, business, law, and more.
- What's included?
  Includes eBook reference sources across multiple disciplines, searchable in the library HELM catalog.
Proquest eBook Central
- Why search here?
  The eBook Central platform offers access to ProQuest's Academic Complete, University Press eBook, and College Complete collections.
- What's included?
  It includes over 200,000 unlimited access scholarly books in a variety of disciplines that you can read online on your computer or mobile device.
Salem Press (All)
- Why search here?
  Use this link to search multiple Salem Press databases at once. This collection of databases that can be found listed individually in the A-Z Database List. Choose the databases you want to search on the next screen. This is helpful if you aren't sure which database to search or want to search multiple places at once.
- What's included?
  This collection includes the following collections: Literature: Authors, Themes, and Works, as well as Critical Surveys; History: Curated Content of the Times, Decades, Great Events from History, Working Americans, Innovators; Science: Environmental Issues; Health: Magill's Medical Guide, 8th Edition; Careers: Business, Healthcare, Hospitality and Tourism, Human Services, Law, Criminal Justice, Emergency Services, Social Media

A People's Art History of the United States
Most people outside of the art world view art as something that is foreign to their experiences and everyday lives. A People’s Art History of the United States places art history squarely in the rough–and–tumble of politics, social struggles, and the fight for justice from the colonial era through the present day.
The Art of Art History
What is art history? Why, how and where did it originate, and how have its aims and methods changed over time? This work is a guide to understanding art history through a critical reading of the field's most influential texts over the past two centuries.
History As Art, Art As History by Dipti Desai; Jessica Hamlin; Rachel Mattson
History as Art, Art as History pioneers methods for using contemporary works of art in the social studies and art classroom to enhance an understanding of visual culture and history. The fully-illustrated interdisciplinary teaching toolkit provides an invaluable pedagogical resource--complete with theoretical background and practical suggestions for teaching U.S. history topics through close readings of both primary sources and provocative works of contemporary art.
Art History by W. McAllister Johnson
These essays discuss major questions that should arise in courses in bibliography, methodology, and historiography, once the survey courses are left behind.
Art History by Jonathan Harris
Art History: The Key Concepts is a systematic, reliable and accessible reference guide to the disciplines of art history and visual culture. Containing entries on over 200 terms integral to the historical and theoretical study of art, design and culture in general, it is an indispensable source of knowledge for all students, scholars and teachers. Covering the development, present status and future direction of art history, entries span a wide variety of terms and concepts such as abstract expressionism, epoch, hybridity, semiology and zeitgeist.
Female Beauty in Art by Maria Ioannou (Editor); Maria Kyriakidou (Editor)
In Female Beauty in Art, a series of essays examine the presence and role of female beauty in art, history and culture, and consider the ways in which beauty can function as a discourse of female identity. As a concept, female beauty is unique in that it can contain compelling imbrications of gender ideologies, images, relations, cultural constructions and modes of interaction between persons and the institutions that define their lives. Thus, female beauty can provide proliferating methods through which female identity is examined and analyzed.

Gardner's Art Through the Ages by Fred S. Kleiner
GARDNER'S ART THROUGH THE AGES: A CONCISE GLOBAL HISTORY provides you with a comprehensive, beautifully illustrated tour of the world's great artistic traditions! Easy to read and understand, the latest edition of this best-selling art history book continues to evolve, providing a rich cultural backdrop for each of the covered periods and geographical locations, and incorporating new artists and art forms--all reproduced according to the highest standards of clarity and color fidelity.
Art in Time by Gauvin Alexander Bailey; Alistair Rider; Matthew McKelway
A comprehensive guide to 150 of the most significant styles and movements that have shaped art history through time. All art is of its time, and this book is the first survey that explicitly embeds styles, schools and movements within the politics and culture in which they arose, by means of timelines, textual references and the unique present-to-past arrangement of the book. An essential guide to art styles and movement. It revives art history, for both the specialist and the general reader coming to the subject with limited knowledge - it shows graphically that art history is a living thing, not dead.
Art History by Marilyn Stokstad (Contribution by); Stephen Addiss (Contribution by); Marion S. Grayson (Contribution by)
This self-contained compendium of art history requires no prior knowledge. It covers the Western tradition from Neolithic painted caves to contemporary artists, as well as other artistic cultures. Controversial issues are dealt with, and there are sections on techniques and a 900-entry glossary.
Art in World History by Hollingsworth
Discusses the artistic and architectural expressions of cultures across the world and throughout time, examining art and its role in history chronologically and between East and West, and as it was influenced by religions, conquests, and civilizations
Art 101 by Eric Grzymkowski
Explore the beautiful and complex world of art! Too often, textbooks obscure the beauty and wonder of fine art with tedious discourse that even Leonardo da Vinci would oppose. Art 101 cuts out the boring details and lengthy explanations, and instead, gives you a lesson in artistic expression that keeps you engaged as you discover the world's greatest artists and their masterpieces. From color theory and Claude Monet to Jackson Pollock and Cubism, this primer is packed with hundreds of entertaining tidbits and works of art that you won't be able to get anywhere else.
Art by Georgio Taboreli; Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
From cave paintings to computer art, classical temples to postmodern office buildings, Art: A World History is an up-to-the-minute, in-depth guide to the world's art and architecture. Each of the chapters presents a comprehensive account of a particular period of world art with detailed timelines as visual reference guides. Art: A World History enables you to look at a work of art, understand its construction, and distinguish between different techniques, styles, and critical viewpoints.

ART 105 Art History Before 1500 (Hawks): Find Books

Search the MCC HELM Koha Catalog

Students HELM Log In

Students log in using their A# and a library password to access your HELM account.

Your library username is your A#. Make sure you enter a capital "A" for your A#.

The default library password for students is their date of birth in an MMDDYYYY format. For example, if you were born on July 4, 1776, your password would be 07041776.

If needed, you can reset your password.

Students do not need to register for an MCC Library card. You are automatically given a library account.

Print Resources for Art