Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the MCC HELM Koha Catalog
Our online catalog provides access to the library collections of MCC along with the libraries in the HELM (Higher Education Libraries of Massachusetts) Network. HELM is a new library network that contains the holdings of 12 academic libraries throughout Massachusetts. You may request materials directly from all the HELM libraries with a library card and password. Materials from HELM are usually delivered within a few days.
For additional materials see also the Minuteman , MVLC library networks.
Print Resources for Art
Begin looking for arts materials by browsing our collection in the call number range
Most art materials have N call numbers and are shelved on the lower level in Lowell. The N section is divided by medium:
- N- Visual Arts
- NA- Architecture
- NB- Sculpture
- NC- Drawing, Design, Illustrations
- ND- Painting
- NE- Print Media
- NK- Decorative Arts
- NX- Arts in General
These broad categories are broken down further by time period, movement, subject or artist:
- ND615- Painting-Italian Renaissance
- ND553 M37- Matisse, Henri
- N6465 I4- Impressionism
- NK1700-2138- House Decoration, General, Special Rooms
- NA190-1555.5- Architecture, History
- NX440-632- History of the Arts
e-Books in Databases
Proquest eBook Central
Over 100,000 recent e-Book titles to read on your computer or mobile device.
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
This is a collection of over 3,000 ebooks selected by MCC Librarians and covers a wide range of topics. All titles in this collection will be available via MCC Search.
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO)
This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses. Subjects include: business and economics, education , language arts and disciplines, political science, religion, literary criticism, medical, social science, philosophy, technology and engineering, world history, and more.
Some MCC eBooks
A People's Art History of the United States
Most people outside of the art world view art as something that is foreign to their experiences and everyday lives. A People’s Art History of the United States places art history squarely in the rough–and–tumble of politics, social struggles, and the fight for justice from the colonial era through the present day.
The Art of Art History
What is art history? Why, how and where did it originate, and how have its aims and methods changed over time? This work is a guide to understanding art history through a critical reading of the field's most influential texts over the past two centuries.