Skip to main content
mccbannerMiddlesex Community College Home PageAboutAcademicsAdmissionsWorkforce TrainingStudent LifeFinancial AssistanceMy MCCRegistrationDirectoryGive to MCCContact UsMCC Library

ENG 161: Modern American Literature (Gamache): 4. Visual Images

4.  Visual Images: For this, you’re asked to begin with ArtStor, a database of visual images from museum art collections all over the world. After ArtStor, check Wikimedia Commons and Google Images. When you use the web, you have to be able to credit the artist or photographer. Find the coolest images to share with the class: paintings, photography, modern art inspired by the work, etc. Please have at least one cited image on every slide, cited right on the slide, and on the corresponding Works Cited page. 

MCC database: ArtStor

How to cite in NoodleTools: Database > Work of Visual Art 

Website: Wikimedia Commons; Google Images

How to cite in NoodleTools: Website > Work of Visual Art 


Database

Image result for artstor

There are two ways to look for images in ArtStor

You can SEARCH, where you type in the name of an artist or a term, like “Vincent van Gogh” or  “portrait”. This will search everything in ArtStor related to your search term.

Or you could BROWSE the different collections, like by country or by types of art.

Citing a Visual Image

When using Noodlebib to cite the image of a piece of art found in ARTstor, choose Database, then Work of Visual Art. Fill in the blanks and click Submit. 

Here's what the citation for this image should look like:

Van Gogh, Vincent. Cypresses. 1889. ARTstor. Accessed 3 June 2020.


Access Library Databases from Off Campus

Students log in using their A# and a library password to access library databases from off-campus. 

You will be prompted with this login screen:

 

Make sure you enter a capital "A" for your A#. Your initial library password is your birthdate in this format: mmddyyyy. 

For example, if you were born on January 6, 1995, your password would be 01061995 

If needed, you can reset your password by going to this link or by contacting a librarian.

Bedford Campus Lowell Campus Affirmative Action Privacy Policy Facebook Twitter YouTube Blog Pinterest Instagram Linkedin Alumni Community Current Students Donors Faculty & Staff Employers Parents & Family Prospective Students Disclosure Information Accreditation Web Policy Transportation Directions News and Events Contact/Request Information