Skip to main content
mccbannerMiddlesex Community College Home PageAboutAcademicsAdmissionsWorkforce TrainingStudent LifeFinancial AssistanceMy MCCRegistrationDirectoryGive to MCCContact UsMCC Library

ENG 161: Modern American Literature (Gamache): 1. Biography

1.   Biography: Seek out interesting biographical info only; try to skip any boring résumé-ish details, or random awards no one has heard of before. Think instead about experiences that likely shaped this person. This will be a few slides in length and be cited BOTH in-text and on a Works Cited page. Check out multiple encyclopedias within the database to compare info, and pay attention, too, to the titles of encyclopedias to see how the information is angled and organized. 

MCC database: Biography (Gale in Context)--look for “Biographies” to use (these are encyclopedias)

How to cite in NoodleTools: Database > Reference (encyclopedias are reference sources)


 

Database

Image result for biography in context

Creating Citations

 

Image result for noodlebib

Noodlebib, also known as Noodletools, is a website that helps you to create and properly format a works cited page.

New accounts must be created either on campus or by clicking the link below:

Noodlebib


Access Library Databases from Off Campus

Students log in using their A# and a library password to access library databases from off-campus. 

You will be prompted with this login screen:

 

Make sure you enter a capital "A" for your A#. Your initial library password is your birthdate in this format: mmddyyyy. 

For example, if you were born on January 6, 1995, your password would be 01061995 

If needed, you can reset your password by going to this link or by contacting a librarian.

Bedford Campus Lowell Campus Affirmative Action Privacy Policy Facebook Twitter YouTube Blog Pinterest Instagram Linkedin Alumni Community Current Students Donors Faculty & Staff Employers Parents & Family Prospective Students Disclosure Information Accreditation Web Policy Transportation Directions News and Events Contact/Request Information