Welcome to the Public Speaking Course Guide! The purpose of this guide is to assist you with finding information about your course and the speeches you will be making during the course.
Why search here? Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media brings together information found in more than 400 journals. Nearly 3 million articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature, meet the needs of researchers.
What's included? This database discusses all aspects of communication including advertising, public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and more.
Why search here? Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. and supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study.
What's included? Journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. Subjects include: Animal science, anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion and philosophy, science and technology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and more.
Why search here? CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Reports are published online 44 times a year. This publication contains in-depth articles focusing on recent news topics and issues of broad interest in the public policy sphere. All perspectives are covered and this is an excellent source when writing an argumentative essay.
What's included? Each single-themed report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist, footnoted and professionally fact checked. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview, which poses and addresses relevant questions; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Why search here? Global Issues provides authoritative content from over 800 geographically diverse newspapers, magazines, and journals, including 334 newspapers that are published in countries other than the United States. Offering a truly global view, users can find information on business and economics, conflict and diplomacy, society and culture, environment and climate change, and more.
What's included? User can browse by issue, region, or topics such as Business and Economy, Health and Medicine, Society and Culture, Government, Politics, and more.
Why search here? Full text, searchable database of the New York Times newspaper. Offers authoritative coverage of local, national, and international news from 1985 to the present.
What's included? Full text of articles published in the New York Times newspaper from 1985 to the present. Text only articles, which do not contain all content found in the published version of the Time. Excluded items include advertisements, charts, classified ads, graphs, most images, and non-staff written items. Updated daily by 8 a.m.
Why search here? Opposing Viewpoints contains articles, reports, opinions, general information, and more that provide different viewpoints on controversial topics and popular social issues. A great place to search lists of topic or research ideas for assignments.
What's included? Content in this database includes topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites. Includes an easily searchable list of some of the most hotly-debated topics.
Why search here? Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines provides access to the most searched magazines across the OneFile products. All of the titles are selected based on actual publication searches performed by library patrons and the database includes many titles recommended by Bowker's “Magazines for Libraries.”
What's included? Provides access to the most searched magazines across Gale OneFile products, focusing on current events, arts, entertainment, sports, science, and health topics.
Selected Books and eBooks
Books on Public Speaking start with the call # PN 4121 or are in the HM section.
Books on Public Speaking start with the call # PN 4121 or are in the HM section
