COM 101: Intro to Communication and Media (Curry): Databases

.

• Why search here?
  Opposing Viewpoints contains articles, reports, opinions, general information, and more that provide different viewpoints on controversial topics and popular social issues. A great place to search lists of topic or research ideas for assignments. 
• What's included?
  Content in this database includes topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites. Includes an easily searchable list of some of the most hotly-debated topics.

.

• Why search here?
  Global Issues provides authoritative content from over 800 geographically diverse newspapers, magazines, and journals, including 334 newspapers that are published in countries other than the United States. Offering a truly global view, users can find information on business and economics, conflict and diplomacy, society and culture, environment and climate change, and more.
• What's included?
  User can browse by issue, region, or topics such as Business and Economy, Health and Medicine, Society and Culture, Government, Politics, and more. 

• Why search here?
  Use this link to search multiple EBSCO databases at once. This collection of databases that can be found listed individually in the A-Z Database List. Choose the databases you want to search on the next screen. This is helpful if you aren't sure which database to search or want to search multiple places at once.
• What's included?
  This collection includes the following databases: Academic Search Complete, Associates Programs Source Plus, MasterFILE Premier, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, Religion and Philosophy Collection, and eBook Collection

• Why search here?
  Full text, searchable database of the Boston Globe newspaper. Offers authoritative coverage of local, national, and international news from 1980 to the present. 
• What's included?
  Full text of articles published in the Boston Globe newspaper from 1980 to the present. Text only articles, which do not contain all content found in the published version of the Globe. Excluded items include advertisements, charts, classified ads, graphs, most images, and non-staff written items. Updated daily by 8 a.m.

• Why search here?
  Full text, searchable database of the New York Times newspaper. Offers authoritative coverage of local, national, and international news from 1985 to the present. 
• What's included?
  Full text of articles published in the New York Times newspaper from 1985 to the present. Text only articles, which do not contain all content found in the published version of the Time. Excluded items include advertisements, charts, classified ads, graphs, most images, and non-staff written items. Updated daily by 8 a.m.

• Why search here?
  Full text, searchable database of the The Wall St. Journal newspaper, which is considered the preeminent publication for business news and information on financial markets worldwide. 
• What's included?
  Full text of articles published in the New York Times newspaper from 1984 to the present. Text only articles, which do not contain all content found in the published version of the WSJ. Excluded items include advertisements, charts, classified ads, graphs, most images, and non-staff written items. Updated daily by 8 a.m.

• Why search here?
  Gale OneFile: News provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. The type of sources range from articles to editorials and transcripts to podcasts.
• What's included?
  This innovative full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.

.

• Why search here?
  Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media brings together information found in more than 400 journals. Nearly 3 million articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature, meet the needs of researchers.
• What's included?
  This database discusses all aspects of communication including advertising, public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and more.