LibGuides: Fake News, Real News: News Sources

Even credible sources can be bias in their reporting.

Check out this chart, created by AllSides, to get an idea of what bias popular news sources have.

Even Trusted News Sources Can Spread Fake News!

Relying on newspapers and news magazines will make it less likely that you will encounter fake news, but it can still happen. It is still important to check your facts.
"Fake News' and How The Washington Post Rewrote Its Story On Russian Hacking of the Power Grid"
by Kalev Leetaru, Forbes, January 1, 2017

AllSides
Unlike regular news services, AllSides exposes bias and provides multiple angles on the same story so you can quickly get the full picture, not just one slant.

How to Spot 11 Types of Media Bias

Newspaper Databases

Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Content for Regional Business News is provided by leading publishers in business news including The Washington Post, PR Newswire US and more. Key resources include newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires.
- What's included?
  Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.
New York Times (1985-Present) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Full text, searchable database of the New York Times newspaper. Offers authoritative coverage of local, national, and international news from 1985 to the present.
- What's included?
  Full text of articles published in the New York Times newspaper from 1985 to the present. Text only articles, which do not contain all content found in the published version of the Time. Excluded items include advertisements, charts, classified ads, graphs, most images, and non-staff written items. Updated daily by 8 a.m.
Wall St. Journal
- Why search here?
  Full text, searchable database of the The Wall St. Journal newspaper, which is considered the preeminent publication for business news and information on financial markets worldwide.
- What's included?
  Full text of articles published in the New York Times newspaper from 1984 to the present. Text only articles, which do not contain all content found in the published version of the WSJ. Excluded items include advertisements, charts, classified ads, graphs, most images, and non-staff written items. Updated daily by 8 a.m.
Boston Globe (1980 - Present) This link opens in a new window
News (Gale OneFile)