LibGuides: Sociology: Human Services

Selected Resources

Begin looking for human services materials by browsing our collection in the call number HV1 -HV5840 and public health in RA421 - RA790.95.

What is Human Services?

What is Human Services?

Find Articles

Click these links for a complete list of all databases and tutorials.
Students studying human services should take a look at:

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in APA PsycInfo. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
- What's included?
  Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
.
- Why search here?
  Gale OneFile: Psychology provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
- What's included?
  The Psychology Collection brings together information found in nearly 300 journals, with a strong emphasis on full-text titles cited in PsycINFO.
PsycARTICLES
- Why search here?
  PsycARTICLES is a database produced by the American Psychological Association (APA). Users can limit a search by psychology-related categories, including age group, methodology, classification codes and population groups.
- What's included?
  Full-text, peer-reviewed articles on topics in psychology from APA-published journals, the Educational Publishing Foundation, and more.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
.
- Why search here?
  SocINDEX is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database with journals, books, and conference papers.
- What's included?
  Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Also features over 10,000 Author Profiles covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched-for authors in the database.

Print Subscriptions in the MCC Library

These and other print subscriptions are available in the MCC Libraries

Open Source Journals

Currents: Scholarship in the Human Services
CURRENTS has been published as an online journal since its inception in 2002 and originates in the University of Calgary, Faculty of Social Work. All articles published before 2005, can be accessed at www.ucalgary.ca/currents. The most recent issue is visible below. Click on "ARCHIVES" in the menu above to view previous volumes and issues.
Disability, CBR & Inclusive Development
Disability, CBR and Inclusive Development (formerly Asia Pacific Disability Rehabilitation Journal) aims to publish evidence-based information to address needs of practitioners (particularly those from developing countries), policy makers, organisations of persons with disabilities and the scientific community.
Social Inclusion
Social Inclusion is a peer-reviewed open access journal which provides academics and policy-makers with a forum to discuss and promote a more socially inclusive society.
Healthy Aging & Clinical Care in the Elderly
ealthy Aging and Clinical Care in the Elderly is an open access, peer reviewed journal which covers both basic and clinical aspects of research into aging, age-related disorders, the general health of elderly people, and how to care for them. All aspects of research into the aging process are of interest, at the molecular, cellular and organismal levels, and mediating factors. Age-related disorders and conditions such as dementia and frailty, aspects related to nutrition, but also rehabilitation strategies and how to best care for people as they age, are all of interest.