Skip to Main Content
mccbanner Middlesex Community College Home Page Current Students Future Students Programs & Courses Paying for College Workforce & Training” title= Alumni Library My MCC Apply Registration Directory Give to MCC About Contact Us
Library Homepage Course Guides English Course Guides Subject Guides Faculty Guides MCC Homepage

ENG 102: Source Evaluation

What is Source Evaluation?

Source evaluation is the process of critically evaluating information in relation to a given purpose in order to determine if it is appropriate for the intended use.

 

Why Evaluate Sources?

        •  Instructors expect students to use sources appropriate for their assignments: knowing the difference between scholarly sources vs. popular sources is important for student success

        •  Information can be out-of-date, inaccurate, and even purposely misleading (such as propaganda) 

        •  Some forms of information, such as websites, allow anyone to contribute content or exist only to sell products or ads by generating traffic

What to look for when evaluating different sources:

Authority/authorship

  • Who is the author and what is their expertise in the subject area? Have they written on the same subject before?
  • Are they affiliated with a research institution?
  • Who is the publisher and what are their credentials?

Currency/timeliness

  • When was the article published?
  • Do you only need the most recent articles? If so, you may choose to limit your search by date.

Coverage/relevance

  • The contents of scholarly articles are summarized in the abstract. Read the abstract to make sure that the article is related to your research topic.

Purpose/audience

  • Is the article written to prove something (empirical research), persuade the reader, or describe a phenomenon? An abstract typically states the purpose of the article.
  • Is the paper scholarly (peer-reviewed)?

Accuracy/documentation

  • Does the article provide a detailed list of references? Scholarly and peer-reviewed research articles always include a bibliography or reference list of works consulted by the author and have clear in-text citations or footnotes about the sources used in the article.
  • Sources must be clearly indicated. There should be no question about who is responsible for the information, and where the information is coming from.
  • Avoid articles that contain spelling or grammatical errors.

Objectivity/thoroughness

  • Be aware of any bias on the part of the author or publisher, especially from non-scholarly sources such as newspaper editorials and opinion pieces.

Authority/authorship

  • Who is the author and what is their expertise in the subject area?
  • Do they have any professional affiliations?
  • Is their work experience or education relevant? Are any of their other publications relevant?

Currency/timeliness

  • When was it published?
  • Is the information still relevant?
  • Has the book been updated? Is there a more recent edition?

Coverage/relevance

  • Is the book relevant to your topic?
  • Does it have the depth you require?
  • Review the table of contents and the index to confirm the information you require is covered in the book and to what extent.

Purpose/audience

  • What is the author’s motivation?
  • Who are the intended readers? The content will vary depending on the book’s targeted audience. It could be very general and introduce the readers to a subject. Conversely, the content could be very specific, aimed at other scholars in the field.

Accuracy/documentation

  • Is there a bibliography or list of references?
  • Can you identify research data?
  • What was the editorial process?
  • Is this information reliable?

Objectivity/thoroughness

  • What perspectives are given, or ignored?
  • Be alert for bias. The author may represent only one side of a topic or argument.
  • Research provides evidence and drives the conclusions reached by the author.
Media materials may include photographs, documentary films, TV and radio broadcasts, even Twitter and Instagram posts.

Authority/authorship

  • Who created the work (e.g. broadcaster, publisher, government)?
  • Can you locate the original source of the image? Tools such as Google Reverse Image Finder can help you locate the source of an image.

Currency/timeliness

  • How current is the information and coverage?
  • Can the same information or images be found through other reputable sources or sites for confirmation?

Coverage/relevance

  • Has there been sufficient time for accurate analysis and understanding of the topic? News reports may require time for follow-up; consider the depth of information when searching for substantive sources.

Purpose/audience

  • For what purpose was the material created (e.g. entertainment, educational, promotional, commercial, professional)? Consider where and how the image is being displayed and why.

Accuracy/documentation

  • Is the image staged, re-enacted, or authentic? Are the news reports genuine or are they satirical?
  • How does that impact the transmission of information?

Objectivity/thoroughness

  • Is the information presented in an objective manner or is it biased? Edited or altered photographs and films are examples of how media can transmit selective information.
  • Determine the intent of the information and whether it represents a particular or biased opinion. Images and sounds may be altered or manipulated; practices such as voice-over narration, framing, editing, and lighting can be used to shape a particular point of view.
  • Compare a cross-section of different media sources to help determine accuracy.
  • Are different points of view offered? Are conclusions supported by evidence?
Information found on the Internet requires particular attention, as anyone can create a website and post information without review or consequence. It is essential to examine and determine the validity and accuracy of the information published on websites.

Authority/authorship

  • Is the author or organization clearly identified?
  • What is their particular expertise on the topic? Many sites with reputable authors will include biographical and contact information.

Currency/timeliness

  • When was the website created?
  • Is the site updated and maintained? Check for broken links, or links to less reputable or abandoned sites – these are signs of a dated website.

Coverage/relevance

  • Is the topic covered in-depth with research to support it? You should be able to cite the information with confidence that it is valid and substantive.

Purpose/audience

  • Is the website academic, professional, commercial, political or "click-bait"? The sole purpose of "click-bait" is to gain clicks and generate advertising revenue.
  • Is the information meant to educate and inform, to persuade, or to sell and make a profit?
  • Check for advertisements and sidebars that lead to unrelated sites.

Accuracy/documentation

  • Is there a bibliography or reference list of sources, including links to other relevant web pages?
  • Are various sides or opinions on a topic or argument covered?
  • Does the site voice extreme views or use inflammatory language? These are characteristic of propaganda.

Objectivity/thoroughness

  • Does the site acknowledge affiliations or associations with universities, political parties, or social, scientific or government groups? Any arguments or conclusions should be supported by evidence and verifiable sources.