LibGuides: ENG 102: English Comp II (Hare): MCC Databases

Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
- Why search here?
  Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. and supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study.
- What's included?
  Journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. Subjects include: Animal science, anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion and philosophy, science and technology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and more.
Gale Databases MultiSearch (Comprehensive)
- Why search here?
  Use this link to search multiple Gale databases, spanning many subjects, at once. This collection of databases that can be found listed individually in the A-Z Database List. Choose the databases you want to search on the next screen. This is helpful if you aren't sure which database to search or want to search multiple places at once.
- What's included?
  This collection provides access to articles, videos, charts, images, infographics, and more from Academic OneFile, Biography, Gale eBooks, General OneFile, Opposing Viewpoints, Popular Magazines, Pop Culture Studies, The New York Times Article Archive, and Vocations and Careers.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Gale Literature Resource Center provides researchers with literary resources to support their literary responses, literary analysis, and thesis statements through a diversity of scholars and critics that ensure all views and interpretations are represented. This database brings together materials that support interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills. Researchers with a literature, history, arts, gender studies, or cultural studies focus can use this resource to analyze authors and works throughout time.
- What's included?
  Researchers can find up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more.

When you're doing research on your topic, first try entering keywords related to it.

Once you enter your keywords, you'll get a results list. Make sure you check off FULL TEXT before you start looking at articles. You also will want to look at Subject: Thesaurus Term to see if what is associated with your search. It's a good way to narrow down your results list as well.

You found an article you like! The record is helpful to you for a few reasons.

1.) It's going to help you with citations, so make sure you print that page.

2.) It has a list of SUBJECT TERMS tied to that article, these are perfect suggestions for keywords as you continue to research.

3.) To the left, you'll see PDF FULL TEXT and sometimes HTML FULL TEXT. This means you could print the article directly from the database.