LibGuides: ETH 102: Business Ethics (Meyer) : Business Databases

Business Databases

Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
- Why search here?
  Business Source Complete is designed for business students. It covers such topics as management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and much more. It also provides access to industry, market, and company research which often contain SWOT (Strengths Weaknesses Opportunities and Threats) analysis of larger companies.
- What's included?
  The database includes full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals, scholarly journals, business periodicals, trade journals, industry reports, and related information.

Click these links for a complete list of all databases and tutorials.
Students studying business should take a look at:

Business MultiSearch (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Use this link to search multiple business related databases at once. This collection of databases that can be found listed individually in the A-Z Database List. Choose the databases you want to search on the next screen. This is helpful if you aren't sure which business database to search or want to search multiple places at once.
- What's included?
  This collection includes the following databases: Academic Search Complete, AgeLine, APA PsycArticles, Associates Programs Source Plus, Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic, Business Source Complete, Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text, eBook Academic Collection, eBook Collection, International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center, MasterFILE Premier, Regional Business News, SocINDEX with Full Text, and more
Economics and Theory (Gale OneFile)
.
- Why search here?
  The Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory offers instant access to full-text academic journals and magazines—with a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit bibliographic index. Content is useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more.
- What's included?
  This collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in business and economics.
Business Collection MultiSearch (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Use this link to search multiple Gale business related databases at once. This collection of databases that can be found listed individually in the A-Z Database List. Choose the databases you want to search on the next screen. This is helpful if you aren't sure which database to search or want to search multiple places at once.
- What's included?
  This collection includes full-text coverage from nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications from international, U.S., and regional news sources. The collection includes the following databases: Business Insights: Essentials, General Business File ASAP, Business, Economics and theory, Culinary Arts Collection, Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection, Small Business Collection, Academic OneFile, General Reference Center Gold, New York Times, Gale Virtual Reference Collection, Vocations and Career Collections.
Wall St. Journal
- Why search here?
  Full text, searchable database of the The Wall St. Journal newspaper, which is considered the preeminent publication for business news and information on financial markets worldwide.
- What's included?
  Full text of articles published in the New York Times newspaper from 1984 to the present. Text only articles, which do not contain all content found in the published version of the WSJ. Excluded items include advertisements, charts, classified ads, graphs, most images, and non-staff written items. Updated daily by 8 a.m.

BPL Kirstein Business Library
Register here for an e-card to access the BPL Databases.

Database searching, the basics

When you're doing research on your topic, first try entering keywords related to it.

Once you enter your keywords, you'll get a results list. Make sure you check off FULL TEXT before you start looking at articles. You also will want to look at Subject: Thesaurus Term to see if what is associated with your search. It's a good way to narrow down your results list as well.

Reading an article record

You found an article you like! The record is helpful to you for a few reasons.

1.) It's going to help you with citations, so make sure you print that page.

2.) It has a list of SUBJECT TERMS tied to that article, these are perfect suggestions for keywords as you continue to research.

3.) To the left, you'll see PDF FULL TEXT and sometimes HTML FULL TEXT. This means you could print the article directly from the database.