LibGuides: ENG 141: Modern World Literature (Kradinova): Literature & History Databases

Literature Databases

Literature Collection MultiSearch (Gale)
- Why search here?
  Use this link to search multiple Gale literature related databases at once. This collection of databases that can be found listed individually in the A-Z Database List. Choose the databases you want to search on the next screen. This is helpful if you aren't sure which database to search or want to search multiple places at once.
- What's included?
  This collection provides access to full-text articles, peer-reviewed articles, documents from the following databases: Literature Resource Center, Biography in Context, Books and Authors, Gale eBooks, Opposing Viewpoints, Pop Culture Studies, Popular Magazines, The New York Times Article Archive, and Vocations and Career Collection. Search it to find thousands of articles on literature as well as background information about authors, historical trends, critical theory, and much more.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Gale Literature Resource Center provides researchers with literary resources to support their literary responses, literary analysis, and thesis statements through a diversity of scholars and critics that ensure all views and interpretations are represented. This database brings together materials that support interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy, and the development of critical thinking skills. Researchers with a literature, history, arts, gender studies, or cultural studies focus can use this resource to analyze authors and works throughout time.
- What's included?
  Researchers can find up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more.
MasterFile Premier This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Designed specifically for public libraries, MasterFILE Premier provides a robust collection of full-text magazines, e-books and primary source documents. It also includes an extensive image collection.
- What's included?
  MasterFILE Premier contains full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues. It also includes an extensive image collection of more than 2 million photos, maps and flags.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
- Why search here?
  Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. and supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study.
- What's included?
  Journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. Subjects include: Animal science, anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion and philosophy, science and technology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and more.

JSTOR - available through Boston Public Library
Massachusetts residents can sign up for a Boston Public Library eCard that provides access to all of BPL's online resources, including JSTOR. Sign up for an eCard here: https://www.bpl.org/ecard/

History Databases

U.S. History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Provide students extensive coverage of historical events. This collection contains millions of articles from periodicals and newspapers; hundreds of thousands of topic and event overviews; biographies; and rich multimedia, including images, videos, audio, and weblinks. This invaluable resource provides access to information on diverse topics, such as early America, the Great Depression, and National History Day.
- What's included?
  The database includes Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites. These are all organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
World History in Context
- Why search here?
  From antiquity to the present day, search a broad collection of scholarly analysis and full-text periodicals, reference works and primary documents that cover the events, movements, and individuals that have shaped world history.
- What's included?
  The database provides information on significant people, events, and topics in World History.
Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Global Issues provides authoritative content from over 800 geographically diverse newspapers, magazines, and journals, including 334 newspapers that are published in countries other than the United States. Offering a truly global view, users can find information on business and economics, conflict and diplomacy, society and culture, environment and climate change, and more.
- What's included?
  User can browse by issue, region, or topics such as Business and Economy, Health and Medicine, Society and Culture, Government, Politics, and more.

When you're searching in a database, be sure to use KEYWORDS. These are terms related to the main points of your topic. Below is an example for opioid treatment.

Before you begin looking at the results, be sure to limit the search. Make sure you checked FULL TEXT and the years are related to your research. Also, you're able to choose the types of sources as well. So if you need newspaper articles, you could limit to just newspapers. Remember if you need scholarly articles, check peer reviewed. Scholarly = academic = peer reviewed.

You found an article you like, now what? Be sure you read the ABSTRACT or the summary of the article first. Ask yourself two questions: will this article help you with your research and do you understand it? It'll save you time reading an article that won't help you. If the article helps, then you could save it by download the PDF full text, save it to your Google Drive, or email it to yourself.