Skip to main content
mccbannerMiddlesex Community College Home PageAboutAcademicsAdmissionsWorkforce TrainingStudent LifeFinancial AssistanceMy MCCRegistrationDirectoryGive to MCCContact UsMCC Library

ETH 101: Honors Ethics and Society (Hawks): Library Databases

Database Access

Students need to use their A# and a library password to access library databases from off-campus. Try using your birthdate in MMDDYYYY format as your password. If needed you can reset your password by going to this link. Make sure you enter a capital "A" for your A#.

Databases

Getting Started

In Depth Research

Newspaper Databases

Database searching Basics

Enter single keywords or short phrases into the database search windows.

EBSCO search screen with search terms "indigenous people" and "rights entered in the search boxes

___________________________________________________________________________________

 

Refine your results list to find exactly what you are looking for. Select Full Text to limit your list to full articles. 

screenshot of search limiters, with full text and scholarly journals selected

___________________________________________________________________________________

As you research, make sure you keep track of the source information for each article. You'll need this for your citations!

detailed record page of article with title, source info, and database info highlighted

 

What Type of Source Do I Need?

If You Need... Try Using...
Expert research based evidence Scholarly articles and books
Informed public or individual opinion on an issue newspapers, magazines, website
Basic facts about an event Newspapers, books, encyclopedia entries
Eyewitness accounts Newspapers, primary source books, web based collections of primary sources
General overview of a topic books or encyclopedias
Info about a very recent topic websites, newspapers, magazines, social media
Local information newspapers, websites, books

 

Bedford Campus Lowell Campus Affirmative Action Privacy Policy Facebook Twitter YouTube Blog Pinterest Instagram Linkedin Alumni Community Current Students Donors Faculty & Staff Employers Parents & Family Prospective Students Disclosure Information Accreditation Web Policy Transportation Directions News and Events Contact/Request Information