Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Websites for United States Governmental Agencies
Websites for other Environmental Orgainzations
Keywords and Ideas
When you search in a database or online for information about an endangered species, you should search for the specific animal by name, however there are many other words and concepts that might make your search richer and help you find more material. Here are some keywords that might be useful.
- conservation management
- critical habitat
- Endangered Species Act of 1973 (ESA)
- environmental policy
- environmental protection
- Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
- National Marine Fisheries Service / NOAA Fisheries
- property rights
- wildlife conservation
Databases to find Articles
Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFIle)
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies.
GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts.
How to search in the databases
Use KEYWORDS not sentences to search in the databases.
Try the name of your endangered species.
Remember to click on FULL TEXT and select an appropriate date range.
Sometimes you will want to select Scholarly/Peer Reviewed
When you find an article make sure to look for the Full text version - usually a PDF.
In this case there is a link to get to the PDF.