Skip to main content
mccbannerMiddlesex Community College Home PageAboutAcademicsAdmissionsWorkforce TrainingStudent LifeFinancial AssistanceMy MCCRegistrationDirectoryGive to MCCContact UsMCC Library

Information Literacy: Research Assignments based on MCC SLOs

Written and Oral Communication

  • Prepare a literature review on a particular topic for a specific time frame.
  • Prepare a bibliography or works cited of books, journals, videos, and websites and write annotations. Students should include an explanation of why the work was included.  
  • Students examine texts written by a figure discussed in class, generate questions from the primary sources, and prepare an annotated version of the text which answers or speculates on the parts of the text that are unclear. 

Library Resources and Instruction options:

  • Instruction using databases and/or MCC discovery search
  • Noodletools instruction for citing
  • Primary and Secondary Source review  

Multicultural and Global Literacy

  • Compare and contrast business etiquette in the United States vs a country of a student's choosing
  • Examine the treatment of a controversial issue in the news in two different countries by looking at different sources from each country. Report on the similarities and differences of how the issue is portrayed.

Library Resources and Instruction Options: 

  • Instruction using databases with global/multicultural perspectives: Global Issues in Context, Diversity Studies, Religion & Philosophy Collection, and World History in Context.
  • Library Instruction session on using Google Advanced search to find articles from a particular region

Critical and Creative Thinking and Problem-Solving

  • Research a controversial topic using a variety of sources.  Discuss how the different types of sources treat the topic.
  • Evaluate a relevant website based on specific criteria, including accuracy, comprehensiveness, authority, easy of use, visual style, and bias.

Library Resources and Instruction Options:

  • Library Instruction session on evaluating different types of sources
  • Annotated bibliography workshop 

Social Responsibility

  • Research a cause and give a persuasive presentation using facts to convince fellow students to support your cause.  

Library Resources and Instruction Options:

  • Databases:CQ Researcher,  Diversity Studies, Gender Studies, Global Issues in Context, Opposing Viewpoints in Context
  • Newspaper Databases: Boston Globe, Infotrac Newsstand, New York Times, Newspaper Source, Wall Street Journal  

Quantitative Literacy

  • Examine statistics such as unemployment, domestic abuse, or child abuse, do the statistics show the full picture?

Library Resources and Instruction Options:

  • Using Google Advanced to find statistics
  • Finding statistics on the web

Personal and Professional Development

  • What does literature in your field of study look like? Investigate the production and dissemination of information in your field? 

Library Resources and Instruction Options:

  • Career books
  • Industry/trade journals and magazines
  • Career Databases: Salem Career Series/eBooks, Vocation and Careers Collections
  • Career Library Guide
Bedford Campus Lowell Campus Affirmative Action Privacy Policy Facebook Twitter YouTube Blog Pinterest Instagram Linkedin Alumni Community Current Students Donors Faculty & Staff Employers Parents & Family Prospective Students Disclosure Information Accreditation Web Policy Transportation Directions News and Events Contact/Request Information