LibGuides: ENG 101: English Comp (Korzeniowski): MCC Databases

Databases - Start Here

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
This publication contains in-depth articles focusing on recent news topics and issues of broad interest in the public policy sphere. All perspectives are covered and this is an excellent source when writing an argumentative essay.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context contains information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Content in this database includes topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

Additional Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. Subjects include: Animal science, anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion and philosophy, science and technology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and more.
MasterFile Premier This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE™ Premier contains full text of periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text reference books, primary source documents, and an Image Collection of photos, maps & flags.

Database Searching - The Basics

When you're doing research on your topic, first try entering keywords related to it.

Once you enter your keywords, you'll get a results list. Make sure you check off FULL TEXT before you start looking at articles. You also will want to look at Subject: Thesaurus Term to see if what is associated with your search. It's a good way to narrow down your results list as well.

Reading an Article Record

You found an article you like! The record is helpful to you for a few reasons.

1.) It's going to help you with citations, so make sure you print that page.

2.) It has a list of SUBJECT TERMS tied to that article, these are perfect suggestions for keywords as you continue to research.

3.) To the left, you'll see PDF FULL TEXT and sometimes HTML FULL TEXT. This means you could print the article directly from the database.