Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to Read Frankenstein, or, The Modern Prometheus
Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, or, The Modern Prometheus has a copyright status of public domain in the United States.
It is therefore legally available as an electronic text from several sites, including Project Gutenberg.
Books and Authors (Gale)
This database is the reader’s go-to site for book suggestions from experts, titles, biographies and more.
Literature Resource Center
This database contains biographical and critical essays on works from all time periods in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more.
U.S. History (Gale in Context)
Gale U.S. History in Context includes Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
EBSCO Databases (History)
Academic Search Premier, MasterFile Premier, ERIC, Newspaper Source, Military and Goverment Collection, Psychology and Behaviorial Sciences Collection, Religion and Philosophy Collection
Biography (Gale in Context)
In-depth articles, periodicals and multimedia on people of interest.
General (but still very helpful) Databases
News (Gale OneFile)
Infotrac Newsstand Database offers newspaper resources from national and international news outlets. The type of sources range from articles to editorials and transcripts to podcasts.
New York Times (Newspaper)
Search the full text of The New York Times (starting in 1995).
Full text of the Boston Globe newspaper offers authoritative coverage of local, national and international news (1980-)
MCC Database Articles to Get You Started
Coming of Age
Open Access Resources
These open access resources can be freely accessed by anyone