LibGuides: ENG 102: English Comp (Kradinova): Using Databases

Recommended Databases

General Subject Databases

Gale Databases MultiSearch (Comprehensive)
- Why search here?
  Use this link to search multiple Gale databases, spanning many subjects, at once. This collection of databases that can be found listed individually in the A-Z Database List. Choose the databases you want to search on the next screen. This is helpful if you aren't sure which database to search or want to search multiple places at once.
- What's included?
  This collection provides access to articles, videos, charts, images, infographics, and more from Academic OneFile, Biography, Gale eBooks, General OneFile, Opposing Viewpoints, Popular Magazines, Pop Culture Studies, The New York Times Article Archive, and Vocations and Careers.
General MultiSearch (EBSCO Basic) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Use this link to search multiple EBSCO databases at once. This collection of databases that can be found listed individually in the A-Z Database List. Choose the databases you want to search on the next screen. This is helpful if you aren't sure which database to search or want to search multiple places at once.
- What's included?
  This collection includes the following databases: Academic Search Complete, Associates Programs Source Plus, MasterFILE Premier, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, Religion and Philosophy Collection, and eBook Collection
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
- Why search here?
  Opposing Viewpoints contains articles, reports, opinions, general information, and more that provide different viewpoints on controversial topics and popular social issues. A great place to search lists of topic or research ideas for assignments.
- What's included?
  Content in this database includes topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites. Includes an easily searchable list of some of the most hotly-debated topics.

History Databases

Biography (Gale in Context)
- Why search here?
  Biography (Gale In Context) uses numerous reference works to provide extensive biographical information. This database features many different search options and can be searched according to various categories.
- What's included?
  Includes in-depth, full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals and reference sources. Search for subjects based on one or more personal facts or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search.
History MultiSearch (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Use this link to search multiple history related databases at once. This collection of databases that can be found listed individually in the A-Z Database List. Choose the databases you want to search on the next screen. This is helpful if you aren't sure which history database to search or want to search multiple places at once.
- What's included?
  This collection includes the following databases: eBook Collection, ERIC, European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750, International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center, MasterFILE Premier, Military & Government Collection, Newswires, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, Religion and Philosophy Collection
History Collection MultiSearch (Gale)
- Why search here?
  Use this link to search multiple Gale history related databases at once. This collection of databases that can be found listed individually in the A-Z Database List. Choose the databases you want to search on the next screen. This is helpful if you aren't sure which database to search or want to search multiple places at once.
- What's included?
  This collection provides access to full-text articles, peer-reviewed articles, and documents from must-read historical journals, and more history resources from the following databases: Expanded Academic, General OneFile, Massachusetts History Online, N. Y. Times, Global Issues in Context, U.S. History Collection, U.S. History in Context, World History Collection, World History in Context.
Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Global Issues provides authoritative content from over 800 geographically diverse newspapers, magazines, and journals, including 334 newspapers that are published in countries other than the United States. Offering a truly global view, users can find information on business and economics, conflict and diplomacy, society and culture, environment and climate change, and more.
- What's included?
  User can browse by issue, region, or topics such as Business and Economy, Health and Medicine, Society and Culture, Government, Politics, and more.
U.S. History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Provide students extensive coverage of historical events. This collection contains millions of articles from periodicals and newspapers; hundreds of thousands of topic and event overviews; biographies; and rich multimedia, including images, videos, audio, and weblinks. This invaluable resource provides access to information on diverse topics, such as early America, the Great Depression, and National History Day.
- What's included?
  The database includes Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files, and links to vetted websites. These are all organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
World History in Context
- Why search here?
  From antiquity to the present day, search a broad collection of scholarly analysis and full-text periodicals, reference works and primary documents that cover the events, movements, and individuals that have shaped world history.
- What's included?
  The database provides information on significant people, events, and topics in World History.

Literature Databases

Literature Collection MultiSearch (Gale)
- Why search here?
  Use this link to search multiple Gale literature related databases at once. This collection of databases that can be found listed individually in the A-Z Database List. Choose the databases you want to search on the next screen. This is helpful if you aren't sure which database to search or want to search multiple places at once.
- What's included?
  This collection provides access to full-text articles, peer-reviewed articles, documents from the following databases: Literature Resource Center, Biography in Context, Books and Authors, Gale eBooks, Opposing Viewpoints, Pop Culture Studies, Popular Magazines, The New York Times Article Archive, and Vocations and Career Collection. Search it to find thousands of articles on literature as well as background information about authors, historical trends, critical theory, and much more.

Newspaper Databases

New York Times (1985-Present) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Full text, searchable database of the New York Times newspaper. Offers authoritative coverage of local, national, and international news from 1985 to the present.
- What's included?
  Full text of articles published in the New York Times newspaper from 1985 to the present. Text only articles, which do not contain all content found in the published version of the Time. Excluded items include advertisements, charts, classified ads, graphs, most images, and non-staff written items. Updated daily by 8 a.m.
Boston Globe (1980 - Present) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Full text, searchable database of the Boston Globe newspaper. Offers authoritative coverage of local, national, and international news from 1980 to the present.
- What's included?
  Full text of articles published in the Boston Globe newspaper from 1980 to the present. Text only articles, which do not contain all content found in the published version of the Globe. Excluded items include advertisements, charts, classified ads, graphs, most images, and non-staff written items. Updated daily by 8 a.m.

Psychology/Sociology Databases

Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile)
- Why search here?
  A must-have for social science, history, and liberal arts coursework, Diversity Studies explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
- What's included?
  This collection includes scholarly journals, including more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals and is updated daily. Exclusive features include Topic Finder and a mobile-optimized interface to support and enhance the search experience.
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile)
- Why search here?
  Gender Studies Database provides indexing and abstracting for gender-related research, including gender studies, family and marital issues, health aspects, gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism, gender identity, and more.
- What's included?
  This resource offers over a million records from scholarly and popular publications, including journals, books, conference papers and theses, from 1930 to the present.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in APA PsycInfo. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
- What's included?
  Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  Gale OneFile: Psychology provides access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
- What's included?
  The Psychology Collection brings together information found in nearly 300 journals, with a strong emphasis on full-text titles cited in PsycINFO.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
  SocINDEX is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database with journals, books, and conference papers.
- What's included?
  Provides comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Also features over 10,000 Author Profiles covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched-for authors in the database.

Critical Analysis Checklist

A few things to keep in mind while you look at critical articles:

What is the length of the paper?

Where was it written? What journal was it published?

Who is the audience?

What is the writing style?

What information does it cover?

Database Searching the Basics

When you're doing research on your topic, first try entering keywords related to it.

Once you enter your keywords, you'll get a results list. Make sure you check off FULL TEXT before you start looking at articles. You also will want to look at Subject: Thesaurus Term to see if what is associated with your search. It's a good way to narrow down your results list as well.

Reading the Article Record

You found an article you like! The record is helpful to you for a few reasons.

1.) It's going to help you with citations, so make sure you print that page.

2.) It has a list of SUBJECT TERMS tied to that article, these are perfect suggestions for keywords as you continue to research.

3.) To the left, you'll see PDF FULL TEXT and sometimes HTML FULL TEXT. This means you could print the article directly from the database.