Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
mccbannerMiddlesex Community College Home PageCurrent StudentsFuture StudentsPrograms & CoursesTuition & AidWorkforce & Training” title=AlumniLibraryMy MCCApplyRegistrationDirectoryGive to MCCAboutContact Us

ENG 102: English Comp (Bennett): MCC Databases

Databases

Newspaper Databases

Newspaper Databases

Database Searching Basics

When you're doing research on your topic, first try entering keywords related to it. 

Once you enter your keywords, you'll get a results list. Make sure you check off FULL TEXT before you start looking at articles.  You also will want to look at Subject: Thesaurus Term to see if what is associated with your search. It's a good way to narrow down your results list as well. 

                                       

Reading an article record

You found an article you like! The record is helpful to you for a few reasons.

1.) It's going to help you with citations, so make sure you print that page.

2.) It has a list of SUBJECT TERMS tied to that article, these are perfect suggestions for keywords as you continue to research.

3.) To the left, you'll see PDF FULL TEXT and sometimes HTML FULL TEXT. This means you could print the article directly from the database. 

Bedford Campus Lowell Campus Accessibility Policy Statement Affirmative Action Statement Privacy Policy Facebook Twitter YouTube Pinterest Instagram Linkedin Academic Calendar Alumni Community Current Students Directions & Maps Donors Employers Faculty & Staff Employment Library MiddleNet News & Events Parents & Family Prospective Students Disclosure Information Accreditation Web Policy Transportation Directions Contact/Request Information Feedback