Skip to main content
mccbannerMiddlesex Community College Home PageAboutAcademicsAdmissionsWorkforce TrainingStudent LifeFinancial AssistanceMy MCCRegistrationDirectoryGive to MCCContact UsMCC Library

ENG 102: ONLINE English Comp (Eng): How to Annotate

Annotated bibliography

From OWL Purdue: 

bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, Web sites, periodicals, etc.) one has used for researching a topic. Bibliographies are sometimes called "References" or "Works Cited" depending on the style format you are using. A bibliography usually just includes the bibliographic information (i.e., the author, title, publisher, etc.).

An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation. Therefore, an annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources. Depending on your project or the assignment, your annotations may do one or more of the following.

Evaluating Sources

Questions to ask yourself

  • WHAT
         Can you identify the type of information source you have found?
         Is it a book?
         An article?
         A web site?
         Something else? (social media posting?)
         What topics are covered?

 

  • WHY
          What is the purpose of the information source?
          Who is the intended audience?
          Is it meant to inform?
          To persuade?
          To teach?
          To report the findings of some original research?
          To entertain?

 

  • HOW
         How does it compare to other items you have found?

     What are the research methods, if any, employed in the source?
     Does the author cite other research? Is there a bibliography? Footnotes?
     Have other scholars cited the information source?
     Does the work succeed?

     How is it useful to me or others?

 

  • WHO
        Who is the author?
        What are the author’s credentials?

    What are the author’s affiliations?
    What are the author’s goals & objectives?

 

  • WHEN

      When the information was created or last updated?

      Is the date important for the timeliness of the content?

Bedford Campus Lowell Campus Affirmative Action Privacy Policy Facebook Twitter YouTube Blog Pinterest Instagram Linkedin Alumni Community Current Students Donors Faculty & Staff Employers Parents & Family Prospective Students Disclosure Information Accreditation Web Policy Transportation Directions News and Events Contact/Request Information