Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reviews vs Criticism
Film reviews are usually written by journalists around the time of the release of the film. They are written for the public and describe the characters and plot to help readers decide whether to see the film.
Film criticism is typically written by scholars who analyze the film in terms of the genre and the historical and cultural significance of the film. It may be written many years after the release of the film.
Film Studies Guide
A guide for students of Film Studies to access library resources and related websites.
Databases that might be helpful
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Designed for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. Of particular note for this assignment is access to Cineaste and Film Comment.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)
Many pyschology journals have articles about films and film genres
SocINDEX with Full Text
Many sociology journals have articles about films and film genres
Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCO)
The themes of films are sometimes religious or philosophical
New York Times (1985-Present)
Full text starting in 1995. Includes film reviews
Literature Resource Center
This database contains biographical and critical essays on works from all time periods in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more.
Searching Tips and Tricks
- Put the title of the film or play in quotations marks to keep the phrase together "Shawshank Redemption"
- Add the name of the director or an actor to your search if the title is a common word or phrase Mud + McConaughey
- Every film or play does not have serious articles written about it or reviews, a film like "Grown Ups 2" may not have anything serious written about it.
- If you cannot find anything about the film you may be able to find articles about the director that discuss her/his style
- Know what year the film was made, that will help if you need information from that year
Having trouble finding anything? Contact me or any of the librarians:
Useful Sources outside of MCC
Flipster and Browzine
Current and past issues of Cinema Scope, Rolling Stone and other popular magazines are available through Flipster, the Digital Magazine Newsstand.
Film Criticism Journal
This link from Browzine allows you to 'Browse' the table of contents from Film Criticism Journal (an academic journal of film criticism) and links back to our databases to view the articles.
Film Studies Journals
Here are more journals in the Film Studies category in Browzine.