Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases to do background research
EBSCO Databases (Basic)
Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, MasterFILE Premier, Religion and Philosophy Collection,
World History in Context
Provides information on the most significant people, events and topics in World History.
U.S. History (Gale in Context)
Gale U.S. History in Context includes Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
New York Times (Newspaper)
Search the full text of The New York Times (starting in 1995).
Provides full text of 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers, and transcripts from television & radio news.
Full text of the Boston Globe newspaper offers authoritative coverage of local, national and international news (1980-)
Database to do biography research
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is a comprehensive, high quality sociology research database with journals, books, and conference papers.
Psychology (Gale OneFile)
Psychology Collection brings together information found in nearly 300 journals, with a strong emphasis on full-text titles cited in PsycINFO.
Criminal Justice Databases
Database searching, the basics
When you're doing research on your topic, first try entering keywords related to it.
Once you enter your keywords, you'll get a results list. Make sure you check off FULL TEXT before you start looking at articles. You also will want to look at Subject: Thesaurus Term to see if what is associated with your search. It's a good way to narrow down your results list as well.
Reading an article record
You found an article you like! The record is helpful to you for a few reasons.
1.) It's going to help you with citations, so make sure you print that page.
2.) It has a list of SUBJECT TERMS tied to that article, these are perfect suggestions for keywords as you continue to research.
3.) To the left, you'll see PDF FULL TEXT and sometimes HTML FULL TEXT. This means you could print the article directly from the database.