Skip to main content
mccbannerMiddlesex Community College Home PageAboutAcademicsAdmissionsWorkforce TrainingStudent LifeFinancial AssistanceMy MCCRegistrationDirectoryGive to MCCContact UsMCC Library

Open Educational Resources (OER): Format Specific Resources: Video, Sound & Image

A guide for educators and learners

Open Image Resources

Flickr is a photo-sharing site.

Use Flickr’s advanced search to limit results to and open content that can be modified, adapted or built upon.

 

Google’s Advanced Image Search allows you to filter by Usage Rights.
 

Wikimedia Commons is a database of freely usable media content, including images, to which anyone can contribute. 
 

Openclipart is a community of artists whose collection of clip art has been released into the public domain.

You can copy, modify, distribute and perform the work, even for commercial purposes, all without asking permission.

U.S. Government Photos & Images links to government agency sites that contain photo and image collections.

Some of these photos are in the public domain or U.S. government works and may be used without permission or fee, but some images may be protected by license or copyright. Read the disclaimers on each site before using images.
 

With Pixabay find, share and use photos, clipart, and vector graphics.

Works on Pixabay have been released into the public domain. You can use any image from this website in digital and printed format, for personal and commercial use, without an attribution requirement to the original author.

 

 

 

Smithsonian Open Access allows you to download, share, and reuse millions of 2D and 3D items from the Smithsonian's collections.

Open Video Resources

Download & Streaming : Moving Image Archive : Internet Archive  

Archive's Moving Images library of free movies, films, and videos. This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download. Select Community Video for some open access videos.
 

 The Open Video Project  

The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities.
 

 Free Stock Footage by bottledvideo.com 

Over 10,000 Free Stock Footage video clips. All Free Stock Footage video clips are Broadcast Quality, Online, and 100% Free to Download and Use.

TED

TED  is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages. Meanwhile, independently run TEDx events help share ideas in communities around the world.
 

Top Documentary Films includes documentaries related to history, politics, religion, science and society. Overall at Top Documentary Films you can find 2100+ (more to come) stunning, eyeopening and interesting documentaries.
 

 Vimeo Public domain videos from Vimeo. The idea of this channel is to create a completely free library of HD footage that can be used by anyone for anything.

 

 

Open Sound Resources

The Sheet Music Consortium provides a collection of digital sheet music for open educaitonal use.  Additionally, where possible, the resource includes case-covers and advertisements connected to the music sheet. 

The Internet Archive's Audio Collection includes a wide range of sound materials.  It has a vast collection of old time radio, thousands of books and poems in audio, podcasts, radio news programming, music, and more. All materials are in the public domain.

The British Library Sounds contains an impressive assortment of sound materials that includes performances,  oral history, sound maps, various music (classical, jazz, traditional, etc), and even sound recordings focused on accents, dialects, environment, and nature sounds. Much of the material is made available to the public.  However, some materials are restricted to European Union users.
 

The Open Education Podcasts at University of Oxford provides thousands of course-based lectures on hundreds of courses, most of which are available as open educational resources.  Visitors can stream audio through the site or download each lecture as an MP3.

 

Dig.CCMixter provides open music and sound files that users can integrate into a variety of multimedia projects such as videos, podcasts, presentations, etc.

Bedford Campus Lowell Campus Affirmative Action Privacy Policy Facebook Twitter YouTube Blog Pinterest Instagram Linkedin Alumni Community Current Students Donors Faculty & Staff Employers Parents & Family Prospective Students Disclosure Information Accreditation Web Policy Transportation Directions News and Events Contact/Request Information