Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access to library resources from off-campus
You can watch videos, access articles and eBooks from off-campus but students may be asked for their A number and library password. Faculty and staff will be asked for their user name and library password.
A complete list of all of the library databases is available. Students interested in Global Issues should look at the following.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is an excellent source of scholarly peer-reviewed journals in all academic disciplines. including biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, and religion.
Biography (Gale in Context)
This database includes in-depth articles, periodicals and multimedia on people of interest. Just enter a search by keyword or limit by occupation, nationality, ethnicity, geography, or gender
This publication contains in-depth articles on controversial topics of the day. All perspectives are covered and this is an excellent source when writing an argumentative essay.
EBSCO Databases (History)
Academic Search Premier, MasterFile Premier, ERIC, Newspaper Source, Military and Goverment Collection, Psychology and Behaviorial Sciences Collection, Religion and Philosophy Collection
Gale Databases (Comprehensive)
Academic OneFile, Expanded Academic, General OneFile
Global issues (Gale in Context)
Includes international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events.
GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts.
Provides full text of 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers, and transcripts from television & radio news
New York Times (Newspaper)
Search the full text of The New York Times (starting in 1995).
Salem History Series
Provides access to the Salem Decades, Great Events from history and Innovator series.
Boston Public Library eCard
Massachusetts residents can get a free ecard which will allow you access to a wide range of databases (https://www.bpl.org/resource/#azindex) beyond what you have access to through MCC.
This site provides access to photographs, manuscripts, books, audio recordings, and other materials of historical interest that have been digitized and made available by members of Digital Commonwealth, a statewide consortium of libraries, museums, archives, and historical societies from across Massachusetts.
Search for articles.
Internet Archive Scholar
This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals though the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web.
Search millions of free academic articles, chapters and theses.
These and other print subscriptions are available in the MCC Libraries
The current year of magazines are shelved in the periodical area. For back issues please consult a library staff member. History and current events materials may be checked out.