Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
mccbannerMiddlesex Community College Home PageCurrent StudentsFuture StudentsPrograms & CoursesTuition & AidWorkforce & Training” title=AlumniLibraryMy MCCApplyRegistrationDirectoryGive to MCCAboutContact Us

Online Learning Resources: Streaming Media

Search Our Video Platforms Directly

 

Academic Video Online (AVON) & Alexander Street Collections

This platform includes over 70,000 video titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.  These subject areas are represented by documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, commercials, theatrical performances, demonstrations, and raw footage within the collection. Of these, thousands are award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners.  More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street and include most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material. The addition of the Theatre Performance and Design Collection includes National Theatre, production recordings, documents, scripts, designs, sketches, and more.
 

Films on Demand

Films on Demand is a video platform by Infobase that links you to educational films and series which span the curriculum. Films for the Humanities and Sciences, ABC News, NBC News, BBC, National Geographic, PBS, TED, History, A&E, bio., The NewsHour, The Open University, A&E, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, Seminars, Cambridge Education, and many more. Allows linking to segments of films and searchable transcripts.  Visit our Films on Demand Guide for login help and direct links to great pages within the platform.
 

Kanopy

Kanopy is a streaming media service distributing over 30,000 documentaries, classic and indie films from BBC, PBS, Media Education Foundation, the Criterion collection and more.  Collections include categories like LGBTQ+, Biracial, Multi-cultural and Disabilities. Allows creation of playlists integrating sections of videos. Visit our Kanopy Guide and watch the MCCLibVid for help, login, and more information.
 

Free Online Streaming

During the COVID-19 Crisis

Kanopy Great Courses

Kanopy is offering the Great Courses Series free over the next month.

 

Featured Series and Collections on Kanopy and Films on Demand

 

Button with link to Kanopy's The Great Courses

Button with link to Kanopy's Do No Harm: The Opioid Epidemic

Button with link to Kanopy's Sociology

Button with link to Kanopy's Health & Wellness

Button with link to Kanopy's Economics and Globalization

Button linking to Her Story: The Female Revolution. By the BBC. On Films on Demand

Button linking to Smashing the Glass Ceiling: The Gender Gap. By Bloomberg. On Films On Demand.

button linking to The Longest War: Women & Power by DCD on Films on Demand

Button Linking to Era fo Music History by C Major on Films on Demand

Button linking to Young People's Concerts by Unitel on Films on Demand

button linking to The Beatles: Made on Merseyside by KEW Media Group on Films on Demand

 

Video button for: Accessing Kanopy - MCCLibVids FAQ

Video button for: Accessing Films on Demand - MCCLibVids FAQ

Bedford Campus Lowell Campus Accessibility Policy Statement Affirmative Action Statement Privacy Policy Facebook Twitter YouTube Pinterest Instagram Linkedin Academic Calendar Alumni Community Current Students Directions & Maps Donors Employers Faculty & Staff Employment Library MiddleNet News & Events Parents & Family Prospective Students Disclosure Information Accreditation Web Policy Transportation Directions Contact/Request Information Feedback