Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
mccbannerMiddlesex Community College Home PageCurrent StudentsFuture StudentsPrograms & CoursesTuition & AidWorkforce & Training” title=AlumniLibraryMy MCCApplyRegistrationDirectoryGive to MCCAboutContact Us

Election 2022: Fact Check

Every Vote Counts

Fake News

What is fake news?  How do we tell fact from fiction?  In the news recently, there has been much talk about the phenomena of 'fake news'.  According to the American Heritage Dictionary, the word 'fake' means contrived or represented as genuine.  So fake news would be news that is contrived or made up and represented to be real or accurate.  When doing research, regardless of whether the news is considered fake news or not, you need to learn to evaluate information to determine if it is accurate and reliable.

"Fake News" by DiLascio-Martinuk, Tracey M., Salem Press Encyclopedia, 2017

Election Fact Check

Demos Election:  Organization working for an America In our democracy and an equal chance in our economy.

FactCheck.org: A nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voter that aims to reduce confusion in U.S. politics.

GovTrack: Track Federal legislation, voting records, bill status and speeches on the floor.

Politifact: Non profit new organization and winner of Pulitzer Prize, dedicated to fact-checking.

Proportional Representation Library: Articles by scholars, activists, and an extensive bibliography.

OpenSecrets.org: Non-partisan resource from the Center of Responsive Politics on money's influence on U.S. elections and public policymaking, search by race, candidate and more.

Vote Smart: Provide factual and unbiased information on candidate's history, speeches and positions, compiled by a non-profit and non-partisan organization.

ElectionLine: Non-partisan organization providing news and analysis on election reform, information on the Help America Vote Act (HAVA) and interactive map lets one see numbers of registered voters, voting age population, voting system used etc.

FairVote: A non-profit organization that studies how voting systems affect participation, representation and governance. Information on proportional representation, redistricting and voter rights.

MassVote: MassVote provides information on Massachusetts voter registration, absentee voting, voting rights, and information for new voters.

Election Websites

League of Women Voters: Nonpartisan group, work on vital issues of public concern

Ballotpedia: The Encyclopedia of American Elections

News New: Links to news sources about elections and issues

Open Secrets: Campaign finance information from the Center for Responsive Politics

Poltitiwoops: Archive of deleted posts and tweets from politicians

The Washington Post : Provides information on the statements fo political figures regarding issued of great importance.

 

 

 

Bedford Campus Lowell Campus Accessibility Policy Statement Affirmative Action Statement Privacy Policy Facebook Twitter YouTube Pinterest Instagram Linkedin Academic Calendar Alumni Community Current Students Directions & Maps Donors Employers Faculty & Staff Employment Library MiddleNet News & Events Parents & Family Prospective Students Disclosure Information Accreditation Web Policy Transportation Directions Contact/Request Information Feedback