Middlesex Community College libraries offer students studying diagnostic medical sonography access to numerous resources. Use the tabs below to locate books, articles, media, websites and citation help.
Why search here? CINAHL is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, offering coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association.
What's included? This resource includes full text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, books, and monographs. CINAHL also includes evidence-based care sheets and quick lessons that include disease overviews and treatment options.
Why search here? MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 29 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. This includes life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, bioengineering needed by health professionals and others engaged in basic research and clinical care, public health, health policy development, or related educational activities.
What's included? Approximately 5,000 of the world's leading biomedical journals are indexed in MEDLINE. The majority of the publications are scholarly journals; however, a small number of newspapers, magazines, and newsletters considered useful to particular segments of the NLM broad user community are also included. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).
Why search here? Provide access to authoritative content including full-text titles cited in CINAHL supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management. This essential resource is versatile and features highlighting and note-taking tools as well as an intuitive interface, providing multiple pathways to key information. Updated daily, this resource will help nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
What's included? The database includes answers to the specialized care, treatment and management of patients. Includes exclusive features, such as Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Why search here? Health and Medicine integrates articles from a wide range of full-text nursing and allied health journals, newspapers, magazines, newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference works and hundreds of health-related multimedia.
What's included? Many articles are available in full text with graphics.
Why search here? The Salem Series Health collection provides high school students, undergraduates, and public library patrons with a solid foundation for various topics in health. Easy-to-understand entries on hundreds of important terms, principles and concepts allow readers to develop a deeper understanding of each field. Using these volumes, students and researchers will have the tools they need to begin their study of health and the body.
What's included? This collection includes the full-text of the Magill Medical Guide.
Why search here? Gale Health and Wellness offers access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
What's included? An updated, easy-to-navigate interface featuring topic portals with curated content on diseases and conditions; drugs; diagnostics and tests; and therapies, treatments, and surgeries. A broad collection of premier full-text reference works, including Gale exclusives such as The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests, and The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets. Millions of articles from both scholarly medical journals and general-interest health magazines. Spanish editions of notable content and a Spanish-language search filter. Streaming video, audio, and images.
Why search here? Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
What's included? This collection is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law, and more. It provides indexing, abstracts and full-text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals, many of which are peer-reviewed.
