Acquisitions
Baskets- Orders in KOHA acquisitions
Budgets- used for tracking accounting values related to acquisitions
Vendors - enter your Evergreen Provider records necessary for serials claims and EDI ordering
Bibliographic Record
Bibliographic number - This number uniquely identifies a specific bibliographic record in the system (Database ID)
Frameworks - used to create a new bibliographic record or workform. Several default frameworks are available with the setup that can be modified to create brief temp records.
Item Record - attached to the Bibliographic record this information reflects the information linked to a specific copy of an item.
Circulation
Facet - a filtering mechanism on the left-hand side of the search results that allows you
to narrow down your results by available items, author's, item type etc
Fine Charging level - element to be set in Circulation administration where you enter in the unit you set (ex. charge fines every 1 day, or every 2 hours). In most cases this field should be set to empty if no fines are charged.
Hard due date - element to be sent in Circulation administration which is empty except for semester loan textbooks which are set at 8/14/2018. Hard due dates supersede the normal loan period when entered. Circ Staff will need to contact HELM to set end of semester dates for all other items. When entering information for Semester loans enter the standard date in case the item will be going out after hard due date expires.
Hold - functionality in the system that allows a patron to reserve or request an item to be held for themselves even if they are not currently in the library or the item is not currently available (checked out, overdue, etc.)
item type - contained within your item record this field determines the circulation policy of the item.
Item
Current location - Circulating collection in Evergreen (If a shared collection of items were purchased the Permanent location could be HELM and the current location one of the library or branches.
Item Type Description- Description is visible in the OPAC
Permanent location - Owning lib in Evergreen
OPAC
Brief View - default view of the bibliographic data as displayed in the catalog
*Cart- temporary holding place in the OPAC or staff client. The cart is cleared at the end of each session or closing the browser.
Detailed View - visible in the catalog when a title is selected which includes the full record of the item. This view would also display if there was an exact match to the search entered,
Filters - located on the left hand side of the search results screen that allows you to narrow down your results by available items, author's, item type etc
Patron Record
Additional parameter - looks like this is the location where we can add a field for Univ ID. Question: would it be searchable as Sort1 or Sort2?
Block expired Patrons - setting in the patron configuration that lets you decide if a specific group of patrons will be blocked from circulation
Card Number – Required Number used by patrons in the Koha system currently referred to as Barcode number. This number is not currently contained in the patron record locally and should be maintained when new records are loaded.
Category – allow you to organize your patrons into different roles, age groups, and patron types that reflect differences in loan rules and borrowing privledges.
Ex. MCC Faculty/Staff, MCC Student, Community
Enrollment period - setting in KOHA that can be either until a specific date or a set number of months.
Ex. Students expire on a specific date in line with the academic calendar, Because there is no patron load of staff we have been expiring staff at a specific day 9/1/20xx Full timers have been getting 3 years while adjuncts receive 1 yr. All other patron could expire after 12 months.
Expiration period - Period set in the Patron Category Editor for each patron group. Expirations can be set for a defined period or specific date
Registration date - this is the date that the patron record was created in the system. When loading the current semester of records it is important that this field not be changed as it contains useful information to us regarding overdues, replacements and deletions of materials and individuals.
Types - Koha includes six different types of categories including Adult, child, staff, professional, statistical, and organization
Ex. Each staff member that requires credentials to work with the system will need to be register in the system. Do we want to create a category for Alumin_staff Alumni_student.
Serials
System Setup
Auto location - allows the library to specify an ip range to login to the system
Collection Code - provides another means of separating your collection to acquire statistics.
Item Types - similar to material types or circ modifiers in Evergreen that determine loan rules.
